Reviews for the Best Western Ariel at Heathrow Airport

Book the Best Western Heathrow Ariel Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 112 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(4 star hotel)
 
£41.00*
room-only
£145.00*
including 8 days parking
1 miles
from the airport
82 112 8/10
customer rating

Our customers rated Holiday Inn Ariel, on average, 8/10 (112 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 112

The Hotel food & staff can not be faulted. However, although situated opposite the airport the hotel has no viewing area to watch the planes, although you can see them landing from the front of the hotel which is located on a very busy road. There is no barrier security at the hotel. When we arrived the car park was full to over flowing, we were told its was because people had not returned to collect their cars. Someone from the hotel came out to find us a space & 'stood guard' of it whilst we retrieved our car, we weren't the only ones to have a parking issue. The hotel was very noisy, the pre-booked hoppa which runs every 30 mins did not turn up in the morning, apparently it had broken down. The hotel kindly booked us a taxi which we would have had to pay again for. The next hoppa (30 mins later) arrived before the taxi so we boarded only to find our hotel was the first pick-up.. it took a further 50 mins to get to the airport terminal, a journey which should've started 30 mins earlier & only meant to rake 15 mins! The driver was also unaware that the previous hoppa had broken down! The return hoppa service was just as bad, waiting nearly an hour for it to arrive. The worst park and stay experience we have ever had.

Mr Kelly, 24 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

1. Airel Hotel accommodation good 2. Airel hotel reception long quese 3. No parking available on arrival- reception had to open a previously barriered off section. 4. We arrived home at T5 at approx. 4pm and had to wait an hour to get Hoppa bus. Used taxi at £20 with no recovery for Hoppa bus

Mr Simons, 20 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
3 out of 5

Went like clockwork - had good in th hotel which was excellent

Mr Phillips, 18 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

The Best Western Ariel hotel was clean with welcoming staff after a long wait to check in. The rooms were adequate but small.

Mr Clark, 18 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

Great hotel. Hoops bus is limited so had to rely on Taxis

Mrs Jones, 11 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Typical 3 star hotel as simple as that. We wouldn’t stay there again. We felt at the time of booking this was the only reasonable priced hotel with parking, at byte time 4 star hotels, we thought, were over priced .

Mr Harries, 11 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
3 out of 5

When we arrived at the hotel there were no parking spaces. We ended up leaving our car in a disabled space for 4 days, which is what the hotel told us to do, but we weren’t very comfortable about doing that. The room was very pokey and felt claustrophobic, but was just about adequate. It was quite a long way to the terminal and there were no shuttle buses at the time we needed, so ended up paying expensive taxi fares. All in all, not ideal.

Mrs Ward, 09 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
2 out of 5

Had to complain to reception that the bathroom was not clean as had hair all over it. We were moved to another room after an apology. I was then woken at 2.30am by a group of makes shouting outside room. Went outside to ask then to be quiet and was told they were waiting for a key, should they have not been told to go to reception and get it? The party then carries on in the next room. Reception are called and say they will deal with it. An hour later and two more unanswered calls to reception the party is still going on. I have to confront the men again and see 7-8 with the room door open! As a paying guest I should never be in a position where I have to confront a group of drunk men. I ended up with 4 hours sleep and not only ruined my evening but had a knock on effect for the next day. Reception in the morning and little to say about it and said they would talk to the men but doubt that ever happened. Not much of an apology or even acknowledgement if the awful night we had had. Absolutely fuming and had to pay for this night!

Ms Chissel, 04 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
1 out of 5

Warm welcome, friendly staff, pleasant room, and good food.

Mr Wright, 03 Sep 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Hotel was comfortable, staff were helpful and the car was safe in the hotel’s car park.

Mrs Chatwin, 17 Aug 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Hotel was about what's expected for a one-night stay; clean, quiet.

Mr Phillipson, 21 Jul 2022

Best Western Ariel
1 out of 5

No. Things did not go smoothly and the service was not as described. The Joppa buses do not run until 11:30. They run until such a time as the driver decides they don’t want to make any more trips. My parents were left at the airport and had to find and pay for their own taxi, even though they had already paid for their hoppa passes in advance. Customer service is also terrible. An automated email response stated that it would likely take 30 days for anyone to get back to me. Won’t be using again and will be advising others not to.

Miss Harle, 13 Jun 2022

Best Western Ariel
2 out of 5

I booked a hotel with parking. The car park was overflowing and the staff told me it is always overbooked. I ended up having to move the car to a disabled space and leave it there for a week. Also, the hotel is advertised as just a 10 minute drive from the airport but nowhere in the literature does it say that the hopper bus also booked with the hotel takes 45 mins to get there.

Miss Suffolk, 09 Jun 2022

Best Western Ariel
3 out of 5

Was very easy to book and find. You will need to save the transfer code for the Hoppa bus to and from the airport.

Mr Loveridge, 05 Jun 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Parking and hotel stay all went smoothly.

Mrs Grant, 30 May 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Hoppa booked to the airport. But could not use as they started to late for early flights. Not good

Mr Byrne, 23 May 2022

Best Western Ariel
2 out of 5

Best Western Ariel better than I thought it would be! Easy to find & park, great staff, small but comfortable room. As others mention, Hotel Hoppa bus takes ages (45 mins) to T5, so leave pleanty of time.

Mr Rendell, 16 May 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Had a very pleasant stay overnight . Hotel was very clean, staff very efficient and polite. Car was left for 8 days at the car park and all good

Mr Bushellknowles, 16 May 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Everything went really well. Have always used Holiday Extras and never been disappointed.

Mr Williams, 07 May 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

All Good and everything ran smoothly

Miss Knox, 07 May 2022

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

The hotel was fine, the room was fine, I did not get my early morning wake up call but the most disconcerting fact was that only by moving some traffic bollards and parking on a grass verge was I able to secure a spot within th3 hotel grounds - I mentioned this at the check in and basically was told that I was lucky!!! I did not even want to ask what would have happened had I not got what effectively the last space

Mr Morgan, 29 Apr 2022

Best Western Ariel
3 out of 5

Ideal location for our trip to NY, good food and restful night

Mr Clarke, 16 Mar 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

staff were helpful, rooms are very tired. bathroom a disappointment . needs a serious refurb

Mrs Clough, 20 Feb 2022

Best Western Ariel
3 out of 5

Everything was great. No issues at all.

Mrs Trow, 19 Feb 2022

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Staff very helpful. Hotel a little Tired. Good evening meal in restaurant

Ms Jung, 16 Sep 2019

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Yes, parking wasn't what I'd call secure , just CCTV, no gates but was fine..

Herr Steinberg, 10 Aug 2019

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

Parking at the hotel is quite limited and the overflow parking is at an off-site car park. An early arrival at the hotel is recommended to be sure of securing a space on the site. The hotel was all that was needed, clean and warm with helpful staff. Hopper bus transfer to the airport terminal was very convenient. The deal was value for money and we would use it again.

Mr Kricheldorf, 22 May 2019

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

I booked the hotel room for the day that our flight left. My mistake. Fortunately, holiday extras were able to change it to the correct day when we arrived the day before with the help of the hotel reception manager.

Mrs Laxen, 15 May 2019

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Quick check in, smaller sized hotel, great as not so far to walk to room, car parked near entrance, convenient location for Heathrow. Perfect for our overnight stay.

Herr ?yesil, 05 May 2019

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Hotel was horrid more mastic around the sink than actual sink dirty with rubbish shower and overpriced food will not be staying in this Hotel again a real shame as Holiday inn's are normally ok if basic this one needs nocking down bout 20 years ago Parking and transfers worked fine all ok on this side

Mr Parish, 12 Mar 2019

Best Western Ariel
1 out of 5

Great as usual

Mr England, 16 Nov 2018

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

After booking the hotel with car parking and shuttle bus I received an email that showed a cheaper price for the hotel. I called and the agent kindly cancelled and rebooked the hotel. i thought that booking earlier would have saved me money. When the wife and I arrived at the hotel they said there was no valid reservation on the system, despite being given a reference number from Holiday Extras. I had to then make a call to Holiday Extras and the person on the call spoke to the hotel manager who then permitted a stay. I did see an offer to stay at a hotel at the airport where I could leave my car in the long stay car park without having to catch a bus. This would have worked out roughly the same price as I had paid. In future I will make sure I wait until a couple of days before departure to book hotels and car parking.

Mr Singh, 14 Aug 2018

Best Western Ariel
2 out of 5

Arrived at hotel, they did not have our booking, luckily they were not fully booked, and they took our email booking confirmation. I do not expect this stress when I am going on holiday.

Mrs Hicks, 26 Dec 2017

Best Western Ariel
1 out of 5

Facilities as described & very clean. Comfortable bed.

Mrs Bennett, 04 Nov 2017

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

I have no negative points to make at all. The room was pleasant, staff welcoming and helpful, all in all a good start to our holiday. The taxi from hotel to terminal from your hotel was on time with a helpful driver.

Mrs Dougherty, 24 Oct 2017

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Very helpful

Mrs Morris, 12 Sep 2017

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Not really a family room, the fold up bed was in the hallway outside of the toilet!!

Mr Garnham, 08 Sep 2017

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

Booked triple room for 3 adults. 3rd bed was fold up fragile uncomfortable camp bed not suitable for my 6ft son who barely slept. On return when picking up our car from their car park we noticed 3 large scratches on side of our car. So not happy!

Mrs Peskett, 28 Aug 2017

Best Western Ariel
1 out of 5

everything went very smoothly except the shuttle bus was early and we missed the one we wanted.

Mrs Douglas, 30 Jun 2017

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Everything went fine, hotel was good, Hoppa bus was on time and friendly drivers. Overall would use again. Aspire lounge was very good

Mrs Butler-Jones, 25 Apr 2017

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

Staff extremely helpful. Room nice, everything right.

Mr Alterskye, 26 Feb 2016

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Everything went well as expected, would recommend to all.

Mrs Norum, 03 Jan 2016

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Hotel convenient and clean but no room safe and could still hear planes outside. Heathrow Hoppa takes forever to pick everyone up, would get private taxi next time

Mr Jenkins, 18 Dec 2015

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

Hotel room did smell of cigarette smoke but otherwise room was clean and staff were helpful and friendly We only used the bar breifly but all was good

Miss Alldrick, 13 Dec 2015

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Staff were helpful, although no seating whilst waiting for bus, or communication that the bus was outside!

Mr Mather, 13 Nov 2015

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

The hotel it's self was good but we booked it with Parking when we arrived at the hotel there were no spaces available so I was told to park on the double yellow lines next to the hotel for the night and before we leave at 5.30am the next morning to move it to a space. The next morning I got up extra early to move the car before leaving for the airport and there were still no spaces free so spoke to the girl on reception to ask what to do if there are no spaces and she wasn't really sure she said that it should be ok to leave it on the double yellow lines by the hotel. There wasn't anything else I could do as we needed to leave for the airport. I spent all holiday worrying about the car and whether it would have been clamped or even still be there when we returned. Luckily when we got back it was still there but I wouldn't recommend anyone booking this hotel if they want hotel and parking as it looks like they are limited on parking and don't have any kind of record of how many spaces are booked and need to be available for those people that have paid to leave their cars there and those that are just staying at the hotel.

Mr Smith, 12 Nov 2015

Best Western Ariel
2 out of 5

Very straightforward pre flight arrival and overnight stay

Mr Arnold, 12 Nov 2015

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

The staff were exceptional. Choice of food in restaurant poor and quality very average

Mr Mould, 04 Nov 2015

Best Western Ariel
4 out of 5

We used this hotel for a one night pre flight stay and 7 nights parking. It is easy to reach by car and the staff are brilliant. Nice restaurant, although rather expensive.

Mr Gould, 02 Nov 2015

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Everything was seamless. The only minor grumble was the attitude of the Shuttle Bus driver who was rather abrupt, particularly with a group of foreign visitors who were unaware of the payment options. He was unhelpful and rather surly in his dealings with them.

Mr Palmer, 03 Oct 2015

Best Western Ariel
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 112

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 05-02-2023, valid as of 05-12-2022