Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1652 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£43.00*
room-only
£68.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
76 1652 8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

Our customers rated Russ Hill , on average, 8/10 (1652 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1652

The hotel was excellent and staff very helpful and the parking for the price we paid was great .

Mrs George, 04 Sep 2022

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was horrendous, the room was dirty, The THREE course meal I paid for WAS in fact a buffet, which resulted in me and my family eating crackers and cheese

Mr Gane, 31 Aug 2022

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel stayed at (Europa) with parking prior to our holiday was very dated and not very clean. Breakfast wasn’t nice. We got at good price to can’t complain but wouldn’t return.

Miss Bearman, 17 Aug 2022

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

All went well, although parking was in short supply and we were fortunate to get a spot close to the hotel. Limited range of wines at the bar. Friendly service. The menu at the bar said food served from 5pm, but the bar man informed us it wasn't starting until 6. we wanted an early meal, as we had a very early start the next morning. 6pm came and went - bar man said the chef had told him not to take any food orders yet. Eventually was allowed to order food around 6.30, but it was good when it came, just irritating to have to wait so long to order.

Mr Smith, 22 Jul 2022

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

have just returned from our holiday and I want to express my disgust at the Europa Hotel where we spent 3.6 22 for one night  because the russ hotel was being used for government commitments! The hotel  was supposed to be a like for like russ hotel originally booked. The place was over crowded  dirty glasses and plates everywhere! No customer service at reception they really could not be bothered  could not find us booked as it was transferred  under the name of Lon not Long surely they could work that one out!! When asked for a alarm call for 2am to take us to the airport and a taxi was told call your self at the at of the desk and we do not provide alarm calls. No food on the menu we had to go the the pub. the room overlooked smelly overflowing waste bins it was disgusting!!! The bed was so old and uncomfortable!! It sank in the middle when both of us got in and we are not large people!!. When we did get down to reception for our taxi at 2am  it was full of foreign  guys having  what seemed to be a get together but it was a gathering of taxi drivers we did not know who was our taxi as we were Ingored!! Then saw us and taxi for long?? We always use holiday extras for our hotel and parking before our holiday but this was not good enough I demand a full refund as this is not what I paid for. It was not a good start for our holiday it was  a long time coming g this hiday but your company needs to close this hotel down

Miss Deborahkaylon, 19 Jun 2022

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Changed hotel due to the one I booked was shut

Mrs Woodman, 17 May 2022

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

At hotel the concert on the outside Building was coming off the car park could do with a complete re_remp as there awere pot holes everywhere at the book car park ,We had to park right at the back of the car park on the grass. Not ever safe for someone who needs a walking stick and waiting for me Blue badge. The room was ever dark and not inverting. Ha D to walk do the stair is we could not get in the restaurant we're we stayed again not ever go for a disabled visitor. Could not get a drink or anything to eat so had to walk to the restaurant on the roundabout. Not very customers friendly ???? Regards Linda Bioletti

Mrs Bioletti, 16 May 2022

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very happy with our stay and very convenant for car parking.

Mr Whitehead, 12 Oct 2021

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Our booking was changed, we were advised the Russ hill was being used as a quarantine hotel, arrived at the europa where the booking was switched too, no booking had been swapped over! Luckily helpful lady sorted it but was a stressful start to the holiday to then find out the russ hill was being used as hotel for the Afghan people. We had also paid for a 3 course meal as we knew I could eat safely at Russ hill, whilst this was transferred I could only eat the main just due to nuts being everywhere in the buffet and I have a severe nut allergy!! Not impressed

Ms Hodgkyns, 26 Sep 2021

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

All very good

Herr Diener, 24 Sep 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Basic hotel that meets the need for somewhere to stay on the night before a flight.

Mrs Atkins, 14 Mar 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Basic hotel that meets the need for somewhere to stay on the night before a flight.

Mrs Atkins, 14 Mar 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

good value and clean helpful staff.

Mrs Weller, 12 Mar 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly, checkin, parking, booking taxi. We found a nice bar with snacks which we were not aware of and would have used but we had already eaten. We thought there was only a restaurant. That was the fault of the hotel website not Holday extras.

Mrs Romaya, 11 Mar 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Great hotel - perfect for the night before flight. Because of half term finding a car space took time but it was fine. Not that far from airport- need to book cab night before????????

Mrs Patel, 07 Mar 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

I was surprised to find that I could use my normal route to Gatwick. However I was a little disappointed with the hotel. The mug in my room had not been washed properly, there was an old tea stain on the top sheet, and the shower room was difficult to get into - I was unable to use the shower because of the step - a grab handle would have been welcomed. The staff was excellent and the service good. I will use the hotel now every time I go to Gatwick for an early flight. I know what to expect.

Mr Valentyngriffit, 04 Mar 2020

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Accommodation comfortable excellent for the price with parking. Had 2 rooms twin room a little cold and dated but comfortable for one night. Family room warm and much nicer. Staff very helpful But on the whole very good for the price. Taxi to airport quick and friendly. Cost 15 pounds as needed larger car as 5 adults and luggage.

Mrs Miller, 29 Feb 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Difficult to find a parking spot. Pillows like rocks, solid and uncomfortable Mattress quality poor Room unbearably hot Kettle was unclean Only good thing was the price

Mr West, 01 Mar 2020

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Everything was just as we expected but better!

Mrs Dodd, 22 Feb 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was exactly as explained, 3 star hotel, basic but clean and comfortable beds, excellent value for money, dinner and breakfast was Buffett style and good value too.

Mrs Atkins, 20 Feb 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Great price and all round service

Mrs Langley, 19 Feb 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was great

Mrs Loveday, 19 Feb 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was as expected, short taxi ride to airport and good facilities.

Mr Baddley, 25 Jan 2020

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Value for money, clean and comfy.

Mrs Harrison, 19 Dec 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Staff friendly. Room clean. Shower good.

Herr Muhl, 15 Dec 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Staff friendly. Room clean. Shower good.

Herr Muhl, 15 Dec 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel staff and evening buffet great. Taxi service worked brilliantly. Room ok overnight but the only window was a skylight not a problem in winter.

Mrs Barker, 14 Dec 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Very nice hotel, nice bar area which serves good food. Good value for money and your car stays where you leave as the keys go with you

Mrs Hambling, 10 Dec 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very nice hotel, nice bar area which serves good food. Good value for money and your car stays where you leave as the keys go with you

Mrs Hambling, 10 Dec 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Every thing was very satisfactory

Frau Schrickel, 30 Nov 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very easy friendly and comfortable

, 26 Nov 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

This is an excellent hotel to use for an overnight stay and parking for a week or two while away on holiday. However, it is a budget hotel and looks it. rooms are clean enough but outdated, and the overall hotel appearance needs updating. It does the job however, and for the money is an excellent choice.

Mr Richardson, 19 Nov 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Room was freezing, shower didn’t work but staff were helpful and gave us key to room next door to shower

Mr Karnebogen, 15 Nov 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

A one night stay was required at a hotel close to Gatwick Airport where I had an early morning customer to pick up. Based on price (£34), I picked the Russ Hill Hotel and then consulted reviews on TripAdvisor which suggested I had chosen badly. However, I found my single room clean and comfortable with compact ensuite facilities. I used the restaurant which provided a perfectly acceptable three-course meal for £14. I needed to be at the airport at so was too early for the breakfast service but left the hotel feeling I had got excellent value.

Mr Goodwin, 10 Nov 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

We have stayed at the Russ Hill Hotel before, it is completely adequate as an overnight stay if you have an early morning flight from LGW. The parking for the holiday duration ia a bonus, but remember to factor in about £24 of taxi costs to and from the airport to the overall costs.

Mr Schickhaus, 06 Nov 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

We have stayed at the Russ Hill Hotel before, it is completely adequate as an overnight stay if you have an early morning flight from LGW. The parking for the holiday duration ia a bonus, but remember to factor in about £24 of taxi costs to and from the airport to the overall costs.

Mr Schickhaus, 06 Nov 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel is very tired but transfers to and from Gatwick were excellent. The hotel and parking package was good value for money

Herr Hatzfeldt, 26 Oct 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

We stayed at the Russ Hill Hotel which was really lovely clean and very acceptable the staff were lovely arranged our transport to the airport which runs smoothly..

Ms Ariane, 20 Oct 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very basic but does the job

Herr Femel, 19 Oct 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Parking is good, but hotel room very small

Herr Yodkam, 18 Oct 2019

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Staff were fine but hotel is very tired however it was good value for money

Mr Kessler, 16 Oct 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Staff were fine but hotel is very tired however it was good value for money

Mr Kessler, 16 Oct 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Staff were very helpful.

Herr Schwerte, 14 Sep 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

You get what you pay for i suppose, however even though the hotel is dated, you expect to be able to get a decent nights sleep, which i did not. The mattress is the by far the worst i have ever slept on, and in desperate need of changing.

Frau Harnack, 25 Aug 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Hard to park...on grass which will become lovely and muddy....3 course meal just ok....the worst toast potatoes ever...tasted as thou they had been there days...tasted off....room dirty and dated....like other reviews mentioned...only good point price...then that's why it was not good

Herr Riekes, 17 Aug 2019

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Booked hotel for 1 night stay and parking for two weeks. Very straightforward, arrived at hotel, given permit for car (which we then parked ourself), room was basic but nice and clean. Could have done with more info on hotel as kids were bored as there was nowhere for them to go or play. Unfortunately for us we stayed on a really hot day and it was way too hot to sit in rooms, even with fan, so we needed somewhere to go to cool down, we opted for outside but the seating area was next to the carpark so the children couldn’t play. When we arrived home we collected our car and left. No fuss, no one to rely on to bring car to us so we were able to get on our way quickly. Overall very pleased with everything.

Frau Lachmuth, 11 Aug 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything worked perfectly. Taxis to and from airport prompt both ways.

Herr Schockmel, 05 Aug 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Parked car and stayed in Hotel for night before paying for discounted taxi to Gatwick airport .

Herr Hoffmann, 04 Aug 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The room was nice but a long way from the reception thought very narrow corridors which was difficult to navigate with large suitcases. The parking bays are fairly small so taking a large car could prove awkward to park.

Mr Denham, 03 Aug 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was ok, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast food good, and the taxi they arranged arrived on time, we may be using this next year depending upon where we travel to.

Herr Albrecht, 27 Jul 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1652

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 05-02-2023, valid as of 05-12-2022