Faster and smarter in the app... Open app

ULEZ Expansion 2023

Everything you need to know about where the expanded Greater London zone will cover

Holiday Extras Logo Heathrow Ulez Guide

In order to improve London's air quality and promote better health, the Ultra Low Emission Zone (ULEZ) will be expanding to cover all 33 boroughs of London starting from 29 August 2023.

What is ULEZ?

ULEZ stands for Ultra Low Emissions Zone and is an area of London that high-emission and polluting vehicles have to pay to enter. Drivers have to ensure their vehicles meet the ULEZ emissions standards or face a daily £12.50 charge. The scheme was put into place to improve the city's air quality by discouraging drivers of older, more polluting vehicles from using the roads in central London. It operates 24/7, 365 days a year with the exception of Christmas Day.

What previous regions did ULEZ cover?

The ULEZ was first introduced in 2019 with the support of London's Mayor, Sadiq Khan. At the start, it only covered the congestion charge zone – a small area of central London that included spots like Westminster and Soho.

Two years later in 2021 the area expanded and included everything within the North and South circular roads, officially known as the A406 and the A205. This change brought areas like Tottenham, East Ham, and Brixton into the ULEZ for the very first time.

Where is the ULEZ expanding to?

From the 29th August 2023, the zone is expanding across all London boroughs, up to the existing Low Emission Zone (LEZ) boundary.

ULEZ Expansion Map 2023

To get a clearer picture of the areas that will be impacted, take a look at the map below, outlining the newly included areas.

Gatwick Parking Cheap

© Crown copyright 2022

As you can see on the map, new areas affected by the 2023 ULEZ zone expansion include:

The North

  • Barnet
  • Edgware
  • Edmonton
  • Enfield
  • Finchley
  • Woodford

The East

  • Barking
  • Dagenham
  • Ilford
  • Hornchurch
  • Romford
  • Upminster
  • Welling

The South

  • Biggin Hill
  • Bromley
  • Croydon
  • Kingston upon Thames
  • Mitcham
  • Sutton
  • Wimbledon

The West

  • Brentford
  • Harrow
  • Hayes
  • Richmond
  • Ruislip
  • Southall
  • Twickenham
  • Wembley

Drivers can also use the postcode checker on the TfL site to see if you'll be driving within the new zone.

Is the M25 in the ULEZ zone?

After the expansion on August 29, the ULEZ will encompass most areas inside the M25, however the M25 itself is not included and will not be covered by the charge, even where it passes within the Greater London Authority (GLA) boundary.

More Useful ULEZ Information