Book Meon Valley Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Reviews for Meon Valley Hotel at Southampton Port


(4 star hotel)
 
£145.00*
room-only
£145.00*
including 8 days parking
11 miles
from the airport
82 59 8/10
customer rating

Customer feedback

Our customers rated Meon Valley with hotel parking and breakfast, on average, 8/10 (59 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 59

Everything as described. Not a single problem. Staff very helpful. Hotel and room immaculate.

Mr Markie, 20 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Lovely accomadation Friendly staff

Mrs Gleadall, 19 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly with the hotel and parking. We were disappointed that dinner was unavailable. Others who arrived at the same time were also told that they could not book dinner. There was a wedding reception so I expect all the resources were going into their catering. I feel that hotel residents should have been advised of this in advance. The hotel was further from Southampton than I expected but the taxi arrangements to and from the port were prompt and efficient.

Mrs Chesterman, 18 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

A Satisfactory hotel but the room was rather basic

Mr Williams, 18 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
4 out of 5

We did have a very nice room,that’s where it ends. When we arrived our room wasn’t ready, fair enough we were more than happy to have a drink in the bar. We didn’t find one clean clear table, waited ages to be served,staff standing around talking. Fortunately or not as the case may be we had booked a table for dinner. Very limited menu food very disappointing. Interesting to hear all the people turned away from booking a table yet the restaurant was empty. The taxi service the following morning was a bit of a shambles. So sadly we won’t be using you again.

Mrs Holden, 18 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
1 out of 5

The hotel room was amazing with separate bedroom and lounge, fridge and two televisions. Clean and spacious hotel set on a golf course, with its own bar and restaurant. Twelve days parking was included as well as free taxis to and from the docks for our cruise. We'd happily do the same again!

Mr Scott, 17 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Hotel good standards food situation not great if you didn't book a table when you got there some did not get a meal in the evening. Parking good.

Mrs Lunn, 18 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Excellent service from start to finish, when sailing from Southampton will definitely use again, only 2 negative points, 1. The hotel i wouldn't class the rooms we were in as 4 star nor the standard of breakfast service which was actually eaten in what could be best described as a thoroughfare corridor although hats off to the chef's the standard of food was great, the spa and golf elements is where i think this establishment gets it 4 stars from.

Mr Taubman, 17 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Very nice room transfers went smoothly very happy with hotel

Mr Twose, 18 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Very Good Everything went like clock work More Information regarding directions would be most welcome

Mr Sharpe, 17 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
4 out of 5

we arrived at hotel and there was no room available. the car was booked for 14 nights but we had no room booked despite confirmation from holiday extras. the hotel receptionist was rude, abusive and aggressive

Mrs Wright, 17 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
1 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly- very impressed.

Ms Skeggs, 14 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Very convenient Comfy room Nice swimming pool available Efficient taxi service to ocean terminal

Mrs Jones, 05 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

It was our second time staying here. Excellent as usual.

Mrs Bowater, 04 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Great the staff were very helpful

Mrs Lecount, 03 Sep 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Facilities were as described and very good. Staff were welcoming & very helpful. The drive from the hotel to Southampton dock was approx 30 mins, not 15 min as per the info on the website, this was not a problem for us, but other people may have an issue with this. We stayed & parked and both facilities were very good. We would recommend & also book again.

Mrs Lynane, 30 Aug 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

We stayed with parking at The Meon Valley Hotel and Country Club. We were very satisfied with their services and facillities .

Mr Durham, 22 Aug 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Many people in the hotel including us received no breakfast. The hotel staff were aware but they did not care. The room was good and the taxi service was excellent. It was 13p per minute to phone the hotel reception. This is something I have never experienced in any hotel I have stayed with. I am not sure if would book with this hotel again because in addition to not getting breakfast when we were checking in I over heard a receptionist tell another guest who was also checking in that he was lucky because he had got the last room. The receptionist then went on to tell the guest that the hotel was overbooked and 5 bookings would not have a room. I would not run the risk of having nowhere to stay after traveling to the hotel.

Mrs Jarvie, 20 Aug 2022

Meon Valley
2 out of 5

The only problem was the taxi to the port. There were 5 ships in and the taxi service throughout Southampton was chaotic. As the driver said to us on arrival "you're lucky I'm under an hour here everyone else has had to wait over an hour". The return to the hotel could not have been better.

Mr Murrall, 15 Aug 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Not the fault of the hotel but my taxi to the port did not turn up so I had to share a taxi with someone else going to a different cruise terminals

Miss Munden, 07 Aug 2022

Meon Valley
2 out of 5

Welcoming , helpful and thoughtful staff . BREAKFAST - We NON -meat eaters had a restricted hot dishes choice . Efficient and friendly Taxi service .

Mrs Gillespie, 06 Aug 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

poor choice of evening food . BREAKFEAST VERY GOOD.

Mr Pell, 02 Aug 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

the hotel was good but a little remote, and not much to do

Mr Reck, 31 Jul 2022

Meon Valley
4 out of 5

Very convenient. Nice hotel setting staff helpful

Mrs Cracknell, 29 Jul 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Better than expected in every way

Mr Lamb, 29 Jul 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Hotel pre cruise and parking was exactly as described with excellent service from start to finish

Ms Thornton, 10 Jul 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

The facilities were better than described, we had a suite rather than a double room; the staff were helpful; the parking was ideal being so close to the hotel entrance and the value, bed and breakfast and parking for 13 nights and an included taxi to and from the port was excellent.

Mr Busby, 10 Jul 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Hotel good. Taxi to port 30 minutes early. Taxi return shocking. 40 minute wait after calling firm.

Mr Williams, 09 Jul 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

All good

Mr Creamer, 02 Jul 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant young man who couldn’t have been more helpful. He explained exactly what to expect regarding transfer to and from the port and left us with no doubt what to do. The hotel and facilities were very good and the surroundings were excellent. Set in the heart of a golf course it was really pleasant. We had an evening meal which was really tasty and we were left to feel relaxed. The room and it’s facilities were up to our expectations and we had a comfortable night.

Mr Carter, 28 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Booking was fine and hotel room very satisfactory. However the restaurant at the hotel is far too small. We had to queue to even get into the room. The breakfast was not frankly good enough. No fruit, no yoghurts. Cold plates for hot breakfasts and the food was cold anyway. Could not recommend for a B and B stay

Mr Hughes, 27 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
2 out of 5

We had a great hotel, easy parking for cruise, taxi organised, made everything easy, and price was great

Ms Ashurst, 25 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Hotel was comfortable, but restaurant food wasn’t great.

Mrs Hodges, 25 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
4 out of 5

No evening meals were available. Not enough seating and many guests disappointed including us. The taxi service is dreadful. Had to wait hours for one and very worried we were going to miss our ship. Will not book with this hotel again.

Mr Bartrum, 25 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
2 out of 5

Hotel room was lovely. Taxi service to port of Southampton very good. Restaurant in hotel is poor. Not owned by hotel and reservations are only available prior to arrival which is not mentioned in your information. Restaurant staff unhelpful and menu is very limited. Taxi service on return from port very poor. Almost 2 hours before they arrived and then it was only a small car which was not suitable for 4 adults and 7 bags.Woman in Taxi office very unhelpful and abrupt. We were left standing in 32 degree baking sun until they sent two small cars. TOTALLY unacceptable service.

Mrs Fillingham, 20 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
3 out of 5

Our room was dreadful, with very basic furniture, nothing to sit on. There was no window apart from a skylight in the ceiling, which meant we were awake soon after sunrise. The breakfast food was not too bad, but the “restaurant breakfast area” was dirty and poorly managed. We stayed in this hotel about 10 years ago, when it was in the Marriott chain, and had no problems. It has gone drastically downhill since then!

Mr Chaplin, 18 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
1 out of 5

good accommodation friendly staff, food very basic

Mrs Gibson, 14 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
4 out of 5

Booked a cruise package at The Meon Valley Hotel including bed, breakfast and parking. Spent 40 minutes checking in as they could not find the reservation, despite showing the confirmation documentation. Was told to park at rear of hotel, no security cameras. Went to the restaurant to book a meal and was told they were unable to provide food for guests due to 2 parties having booked meals and that we should find another restaurant !!! Not impressed this was the worst hotel experience ever at Southampton, will keep well clear of this place in future.

Mr Howard, 13 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
2 out of 5

Lovely hotel in Southampton, excellent taxi service. Would definitely use again.

Mrs Kilby, 11 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

room size was very good. however, there were cobwebs by side of bed. I did not report it to the hotel. The food was average. the hotel used to be a Marriott but now part of Britannia group which shows in the level of staff and choice of menu. I would stay there again if I had to

Mr Levi, 11 Jun 2022

Meon Valley
4 out of 5

The hotel stay was extremely poor and stressful. Our first room was noisy. We could hear loud footsteps and crashes continually. The bath was rusty. We asked for a room on the top floor or in the side annexe. At first none were available even though the hotel had very few guests. Eventually one was available. There was no lift access to it so we had to struggle with our cases. Annoyingly we learned the following morning that another guest was able to store their cases in a room adjacent to reception. This was not offered to us. From about 10pm there was a lot of loud noise and music playing. At 1am there was a violent fight in the corridor between an Irish father and son. We were very afraid and the noise stopped abruptly about 2am. We learned that the son had gone to reception and asked for a separate room. We complained to reception the next morning but they did not care. There was no offer of any recompense. ( We stayed at the Hilton before and when the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night we were, at least, given drinks vouchers the next day ). While we sat waiting for our taxi in reception, the Irish son came in and not a word of disapproval was said to him. The taxi was also messed up. When we arrived, the receptionist said it should be booked for one hour before check-in. I told her that check-in was at 11.45am. She replied that it should come one hour before but could not work out what that was!!! I told her that was 10.45am. At 10.45 no taxi had arrived. The morning receptionist checked the list and said it had been booked for 11.45am. We were aghast as our ticket from P&O expressly said we must arrive at that time and now we would be late. It caused us much anxiety. On our return taxi journey, the driver said that there were nothing but bad reports for the Meon Valley and he advised people to avoid staying there. I think you should remove this hotel from your offering. It was poor value for money and gave us an awful stressful start to our holiday. Either you or the hotel should also offer us some compensation for our distress.

Mrs Mcglade, 01 Feb 2022

Meon Valley
1 out of 5

Staff where ok prices where very expensive accommodation wasn't very comfortable bed hard and pillows uncomfortable we would only rate this hotel as 3 stars parking was fine but bar and restaurant prices where excessive wouldn't stay here again.

Mrs Tower, 18 Jan 2022

Meon Valley
2 out of 5

The food was very poor. Very nice room and helpful staff.

Mr Blackham, 05 Nov 2021

Meon Valley
4 out of 5

As always Holiday Extras provided me with good quality accommodation, great food and parking where I keep my car key.

Mr Phillips, 24 Oct 2021

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

No food available at hotel. Staff rude and non understanding. Sandwiches or chips could have been provided to young children and older persons. There are two restaurants at the hotel and a golf society dinner was still being served whilst all this mayhem. Think management should be better prepared in future. What do you think???

Mr Carey, 24 Oct 2021

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

As always Holiday Extras provided me with good quality accommodation, great food and parking where I keep my car key.

Mr Phillips, 23 Oct 2021

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

The hotel was a big let down. It as gone down hill from the last time we stayed there. The place was understaffed and dirty . I felt sorry for the girl who worked on reception. She kept dealing with constant complaints. The reason we give 5 was for the parking whilst we was on holiday.

Mr Davies, 22 Aug 2021

Meon Valley
3 out of 5

Hotel room was excellent. Breakfast was of a good standard albeit limited. The taxi service to and from the ship was excellent. Would definitely book this package again when we sail from southampton again.

Mr Longbone, 11 Aug 2021

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Phoned the hotel a couple of days before departure to enquire if they had mattress toppers (no!) and they said they did not have our booking. Spoke to you who got back to me to say all was OK. On arrival, hotel again said they did not have our booking. Luckily they had room though not the type of room we had requested. Check-in took over 20 mins - far too long. So, not very happy with your service this time round.

Mrs Mcglade, 22 Dec 2019

Meon Valley
2 out of 5

The hotel and staff were suburb and could not fault. Transfer to and from the ship was top quality. The extremely disappointing part was turning up at the hotel to find out they did not have a booking for me even though I had printed confirmation. I was told that the site I booked with never confirmed with them and if it had been the day before we would not have been able to stay as they were fully booked. We were fortunate that the receptionist was extremely helpful and sorted it out. I am going to put a complaint in as I had driven along way and could have ended up stuck without accommodation.

Miss Doyle, 04 Dec 2019

Meon Valley
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 59

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 27-11-2022, valid as of 27-09-2022