Reviews for the Gatwick Europa Hotel

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Europa

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1061 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£52.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
72 1061 7/10
customer rating

Oui or non?

Our customers rated Europa, on average, 7/10 (1061 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1061

No other comments

Mr Garrard, 26 Sep 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

I had one night at the Europa Gatwick Hotel with 13 days parking. I was not impressed with the Hotel: the room needed a good steam clean as did much of the public areas; tea bags and coffee sachets in the room were placed in a plastic bag; two cups were provided but no saucers; the beds were ancient and the mattresses creaky; there were hairs in the basin and even the TV remote control was greasy. The first room I was allocated had not even been cleaned out from the previous occupant. On a positive front, the evening buffet and the morning breakfast were good. I have just returned from touring Spain and Portugal. In every instance the hotel rooms were spotlessly clean in contrast to the somewhat shoddy Europa Gatwick. In conclusion, I would not book this Hotel again, and I suggest you remove this establishment from your list of choices.

Mr Bore, 25 Sep 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

The hotel was okay but the restaurant was terrible. I paid £11 for a breakfast but as a coleiac I was not looked after at all. I've tried to complain but the email address I have been given is not correct. In general the breakfast was very poor, with cold coffee and watered down juice.

Mr Hogg, 25 Sep 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

Parking was difficult as hotel spaces were full and not any room.

Mr Thomas, 24 Sep 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

All went well no problems !

Mr Milligan, 23 Sep 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Staff were friendly and transfers to airport were easily arranged. Room was clean

Ms Lockwood, 19 Sep 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

I do not know where to start. It was filthy. Cobwebs throughout the room. Restaurant food disgusting. Only good thing was being able to park there. We will NEVER use this horrible hotel again!

Mr Culver, 18 Sep 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

really recommend holiday extras for their hotel transfers abroad. All went very smoothly and someone was waiting for us with my name on a sign

Mrs Reading, 12 Sep 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Very busy and only i member of staff, place needs a good revamp very dated ,with looks like the local druggies place to go and that came from the barman

Mr Nicholls, 10 Sep 2022

Europa
2 out of 5

All good

Mr Djemal, 08 Sep 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

The place was in need of updating. Food not good and room very below what I would have expected

Mrs Hall, 05 Sep 2022

Europa
2 out of 5

Yes very think was good and you don't need to leave your car keys the hotel said they need to update there web site

Mr Ley, 03 Sep 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Have used this hotel on a number of occasions for the convenience of parking the car with it staying on site aswell the reassurance of it being safe and closeness of the airport taxi ride is only no more than 15 mins traffic permitting. Hotel it’s self is big with a pool area you can use if you wanted too, bedrooms are of a good size enough for your night before flying on hols. Food was buffet style and good choice in the evening as well at breakfast. All staff I came across where friendly and helpful. Local taxi service very efficient they come into the hotel and call out your room number / name so no worries you won’t miss your pick up. The added

Mrs Humphrey, 02 Sep 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

When we arrived at Europa Hotel at Gatwick they had no booking reference number from our booking with you! It took ages to sort out and luckily they had a family room available for us before our flight the next morning.

Mrs Cole, 18 Aug 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Arrived and dropped tha car off. All good on collection. Good service.

Mr Lamb, 16 Aug 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

everything ran smoothly. Hotel was a little basic but perfectly ok for a preflight hotel.

Mr Harper, 16 Aug 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

The hotel was very dirty. We were met with a litter strewn car park , overflowing bins. Inside the carpets are filthy. The whole place needs a good clean and upstage. There were few staff on which meant those that were on duty struggled We would not go there again

Mrs Elsmore, 14 Aug 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Limited parking in a disorganised car park " free for all". Rooms basic. Only ten minutes to Gatwick.

Mr Childs, 09 Aug 2022

Europa
2 out of 5

Taxi is an extra £42 return trip tho the airport and back so that cost needs factoring in .

Mr Mcquaid, 08 Aug 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything went perfectly, this is our 6th time using Holidayextras for a pre holiday hotel stay and parking, we recommend to everyone and will continue to use for all holidays. So well priced and makes the holiday care free.

Miss Chapman, 06 Aug 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

I'd booked a Park first and then stay on my return: I'm not sure staff were fully conversant with this - but it worked well for me. Having read the reviews after I booked I was a bit anxious as to whether I would find a parking place at 5am - but I did. Taxi drivers were helpful though their switchboard was a bit random.

Mrs Date, 05 Aug 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Holiday Extras were good. Staff were helpful and communication was excellent leading up to the trip. The hotel was dirty and staff were unhelpful. We were given our room key with no explanation on how to get there. After 20 mins of lugging the cases round trying to find the room we went back to reception where we were told we had to go up two flights of stairs with all our luggage. You could smell the dirt on the carpets. Some random person was banging on our door in the middle of the night. I considered sleeping in the car! Taxis were extremely expensive to Gatwick.

Mrs Morris, 05 Aug 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Parking was a lottery , after a long time I managed to park against a fence . Reception staff were unhelpful and the breakfast relative to cost was poor .

Mr Turton, 04 Aug 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

We turned up to the hotel at 11.30pm after a 3 hour drive to find out that holiday extras had sent the wrong dates to the hotel. Instead of the 19th when we arrive here it booking had been sent for the 17th. The hotel said there was nothing they could do and that we had to book the hotel again! At midnight we had no other choice as we had to be at the airport for 6.30am! I have filled in a complaint form and still waiting for someone to contact me. I will be calling once I’m back from my holiday. This was an absolute shambles and not a good way to start a holiday!

Miss Drinkwater, 03 Aug 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Staff helpful, car parking was a bit chaotic, staff just told us to park anywhere we could find a space. Rooms OK as described.

Mr Barsley, 30 Jul 2022

Europa
2 out of 5

Horrendous Hotel.... No shower, no bath plug, water lukewarm, TV didnt work, food poor, hotel very dated, furniture in room scratched and worn... Staff were friendly and helpful despite dealing with numerous complaints... Whatever they are paid is not enough!

Mr Prettyman, 27 Jul 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Stress free arrival and check in. The room was spacious and the beds were soft and comfy. Checkout was a breeze and the taxi service was very good value. Long term parking was astonishingly cheap.

Mr Pandit, 27 Jul 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

A bit dated and no bar open to grab a drink in the daytime before we had to leave in the afternoon for the airport but close to the airport and room clean and comfortable

Mrs Vanstone, 26 Jul 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

The hotels a bit run down and could do with a serious amount off repairs.pool was closed

Mr Parker, 25 Jul 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Everything was lovely The bed was 5 out of 10!

Mr Phillips, 22 Jul 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

All went easily,no problems,easy parking in a secure space with CCTV, will definitely use again...

Mr Brett, 22 Jul 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Very comfortable accommodation,good price and very reasonable bar prices for food and drinks

Mr King, 20 Jul 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Great price and great service from the hotel

Mr Rayworth, 19 Jul 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

It the whole nightmare not book in when thay managed to sort it we we're in the room and some one walk in thay hade gave some one the same room then went for dinner and there was a problem with that so all in all never stay there again

Mr Hibberd, 18 Jul 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel was dirty & smelt stale when we arrived ….it is obviously run down & the choice of food was very poor & very expensive . Our shower leaked & when I wiped the floor with a towel it was filthy & obviously the floor hadn’t been cleaned !! The car park was a free for all with no security

Mr Fordham, 17 Jul 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Parking was all over the place, no where to park when we first got there, no signs , once in reception everything went okay , we found the hotel to be a bit dated, in the second room they could not get the shower to work, apart from that it is what it is . We have been in better and sadly worse!

Mr Webb, 14 Jul 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Easy to purchase and a good price, all very clear.

Mr Porter, 09 Jul 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel list my booking and tried to charge me a second time i had to dind my bank statement to prove id paid already. Check in was at 4pm however it took 45 mins to get checked in due to one person on counter and lost booking and the pool was closed to kids after 5pm so they couldnt use this facility. The kids cried as after 5 hrs in the car theyd been looking forward to it and it wad the main reason we booked here. We got to the room and found out the shower didnt work amd after reception coming and trying to get it working for half an hour they decided to move me rooms. Moved rooms to find that once in the shower the showet didnt sit in the holder so couldnt shower properly. In middle of getting showered and fire alarm went off in a panic i rushed to put clothes on and smacked head on wall in process phone in bedroom didnt work to call reception whem alarm went off to ask for ice. Walked down to reception which was a really long way to get ice and say that shower and phone dont work and was tols theres nothing they could do as no other rooms available. Go back to room and card for door doesnt work me and 5 other rooms are locked out issue with cards for doors. Go back to reception for them to cut me a new card and waited half an hour in another queue as only one person on desk. Two reception staff and a manager standing around talking. Asked if we could get dinner and was told kids buffet upstairs and adults meals down stairs but we cant have delivered to table upstairs whilst kids are eating no we had to go downstairs order food wait for it and then take it up ourselves. Right polava ane not very convenient with a young son so we ended up eating after each other. Dirty, old, tired hotel and facilities are awful. Manager useless and agreed with me that its not up to scratch. Waste of money. Travelodge is cheaper and cleaner and liter 0.3 miles down the road.

Mr Tempbooking, 10 Jul 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

All good no problems

Mr Hilburn, 03 Jul 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

facilities were as described and staff were helpful

Mr Hutchinson, 04 Jul 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel bar did not serve real ale. Restaurant was chaotic but carvery food was OK. I tried to order wine with my meal and was told I would have to leave my table and go down to the bar to get a drink and bring it back upstairs to the restaurant. No offer by staff to get it. No printed menu or guidance from staff as to what was on offer in restaurant and what was included in the price. If I stay here again I may take the short walk to the local pub for meal and a beer.

Mr Mercer, 23 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Everything went as planned with no issues. Very happy with hotel, staff very competent and friendly, overall an excellent experience and very good value.

Mr Pitman, 20 Jun 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything seemed dark and outdated. Handrails, bannister’s we’re sticky. Food was average to poor I won’t be staying here again

Mr Cuttell, 20 Jun 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

The hotel was a bit rough,the restaurant was like a work canteen,expensive and no quality,not a nice atmosphere, I was glad was only for 1 night. The car park you had to find yourself a place to park and doesn’t like very safe,in the reception they serve you like you are in a supermarket. When we came back from holiday to collect your car you just go and get your car and you don’t need to let them know,I been doing this before in different hotels and never this way,everything just runs on their own ,you feel like when you leave your car in a normal road,no one checks anything.

Mr Caio, 19 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Rooms dated and barley cleaned, dirty toilet, rubbish on floor Very bad

Miss Beeston, 19 Jun 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

The bedrooms could do with a refit they look drab but that said everything went well staff lovely and would book with you again

Miss Cliff, 17 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Flight cancelled and when I went onto site to change my hotel reservation was told you couldn’t help Luckily changed by phoning hotel but not without problems

Mr Gallagher, 17 Jun 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

They went very smoothly and it was witching easy distance (taxi) to the airport. The facilities were a little dated and the lounge uninviting. Also had to wait for the bar to open

Mrs Hedley, 15 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

The parking was great but the hotel leaved a lot to be desired. Bar was late opening. Unwelcoming lounge and basic rooms

Mrs Hedley, 14 Jun 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

Easy check-in, nice breakfast, good value for a weeks parking

Mrs Collender, 12 Jun 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1061

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 11-12-2022, valid as of 06-10-2022