Reviews for the Gatwick Europa Hotel

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Europa

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1021 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£75.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
72 1021 7/10
customer rating

Oui or non?

Our customers rated Europa, on average, 7/10 (1021 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1021

Hotel bar did not serve real ale. Restaurant was chaotic but carvery food was OK. I tried to order wine with my meal and was told I would have to leave my table and go down to the bar to get a drink and bring it back upstairs to the restaurant. No offer by staff to get it. No printed menu or guidance from staff as to what was on offer in restaurant and what was included in the price. If I stay here again I may take the short walk to the local pub for meal and a beer.

Mr Mercer, 23 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Everything went as planned with no issues. Very happy with hotel, staff very competent and friendly, overall an excellent experience and very good value.

Mr Pitman, 20 Jun 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything seemed dark and outdated. Handrails, bannister’s we’re sticky. Food was average to poor I won’t be staying here again

Mr Cuttell, 20 Jun 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

The hotel was a bit rough,the restaurant was like a work canteen,expensive and no quality,not a nice atmosphere, I was glad was only for 1 night. The car park you had to find yourself a place to park and doesn’t like very safe,in the reception they serve you like you are in a supermarket. When we came back from holiday to collect your car you just go and get your car and you don’t need to let them know,I been doing this before in different hotels and never this way,everything just runs on their own ,you feel like when you leave your car in a normal road,no one checks anything.

Mr Caio, 19 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Rooms dated and barley cleaned, dirty toilet, rubbish on floor Very bad

Miss Beeston, 19 Jun 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

The bedrooms could do with a refit they look drab but that said everything went well staff lovely and would book with you again

Miss Cliff, 17 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Flight cancelled and when I went onto site to change my hotel reservation was told you couldn’t help Luckily changed by phoning hotel but not without problems

Mr Gallagher, 17 Jun 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

They went very smoothly and it was witching easy distance (taxi) to the airport. The facilities were a little dated and the lounge uninviting. Also had to wait for the bar to open

Mrs Hedley, 15 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

The parking was great but the hotel leaved a lot to be desired. Bar was late opening. Unwelcoming lounge and basic rooms

Mrs Hedley, 14 Jun 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

Easy check-in, nice breakfast, good value for a weeks parking

Mrs Collender, 12 Jun 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

I found this service very easy to arrange. Location was easy to find and close to Gatwick Airport. The evening meal was very good as waere the facilities for the one night's stay. An efficient taxi service for the trip to the airport. I would call for a return taxi whilst waiting for your luggage as this took some time after exiting the Arrival Hall.

Mr Jones, 09 Jun 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Room very cold. No early calls. Food average , but for the money the whole package was reasonable.

Mr Burke, 08 Jun 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

Helpful staff, good accommodation nearby given our late landing and great car parking.

Mr Pollard, 07 Jun 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Staff were very helpful and the whole process was relatively easy. Hotel was a little ‘tired’ but was very clean and comfy. Very pleased with value for money.

Mrs Williams, 07 Jun 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel was fine and it was great to be able to park the car and know that it would be in the same place on return

Mrs Looker, 08 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

We arrived at the airport hotel on our return and as with many flights ours was delayed. When we booked I had entered our flight number and arrival time. When we arrived at approximately 5am 2 hours later we were told that we had been marked as a no show and our room cancelled. Please could you advise how I submit a formal complaint?

Mrs Faithfull, 06 Jun 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Needs updating. Check in and staff friendly.

Mrs Hodson, 05 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

No parking spaces were available, the organisation was diabolical and we were told to just keep driving around until we could find one which took an hour. People parked on verges and next to skips! Rooms were basic and just overall a bit shoddy.

Mrs Jenkins, 05 Jun 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Basic but comfortable hotel. Only saw staff at check in, was made to wait 10 mins as they were running the end of day so couldn't check us in (at 4am with 2 very tired children). Then was told we were lucky we checked in when we did as we were given the last room-even though we booked it months back! Booked a late check out and hotel was nice and quiet so we could sleep in.

Mrs Baxter, 03 Jun 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

The hotel was dirty and dated poor service

Mr Nulty, 02 Jun 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

you pay for parking but it's pot luck if you actually get it or not which is not good when it's hotel for 1 night and parking for 8 days

Mr Jarvis, 02 Jun 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

I got an email a couple of weeks before my stay to say the hotel id originally booked in to was now unavailable, so i had to rebook last minute and pay an awful lot more as it was now so close to my departure date. The hotel was ok, they couldn't find my booking but sorted it. The room was basic and not very clean. The grass outside was overgrown and very untidy. The man on reception was dressed in trackie bottoms and sliders.... i feel let down by Holiday Extras

Mrs Keep, 31 May 2022

Europa
2 out of 5

Easy to go Gatwick Airport . Nice& friendly staff.

Mrs Patel, 23 May 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

The europa was dreadful! Chaotic, down market to say the least. We arrived to a chaotic environment and queues everywhere after being unable to find a designated parking space. People had parked in hedges and unallocated spaces. It took ages to book in after a long journey to find us not able to get food without queuing with a large group of screaming young people. The bar was so badly stocked. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the lift was out of order so we had to climb 3 flights of stairs with suitcases weighing over 20 kgs. Terrible service, accommodation and facilities. Never again! When we returned from our holiday, I had to wade through deep puddles to get to my car so had to dry my feet and change my footwear.

Ms Cleave, 20 May 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel and room were good. Checking in was easy, booking taxi was simple staff very helpful. Only problem was finding somewhere to park. It was almost full, would be impossible if it was peak season, need to organise this better, clearer and more spaces

Mrs Walding, 19 May 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Difficult to find somewhere to park

Mr Tereszczuk, 19 May 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

The hotel Europa at Gatwick was OK. Its very dated and is in need of refurbishment. The room we was in was in a noisy position. The buffet food table was good. At the end of the day it was for 1 night before our holiday began.

Mrs Lawrence, 18 May 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Carpark was so full we had to basically park in a bush. Cars were everywhere will no really parking bays just cars abandoned blocking entrances and parked in ditches. The hotel room was clean but old fashioned. Our heating was stuck on hot all night! Luckily we only stayed a little while and left at 2am for the flight. I feel the car park need some work!!

Mr/S Wiggall, 18 May 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Very enjoyable stay at a very competitive price

Mr Woodley, 17 May 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

All very good and comfortable

Mr Frost, 15 May 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Freezing no heating. Long wait to check in.

Ms Dienn, 15 May 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

Staff were helpful

Mrs Whiffin, 13 May 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Stay was fine and we’ve stayed before. Hotel is looking a little tired in places but staff pleasant enough and it was ok for an overnight stay.

Miss Reed, 11 May 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Got to hotel and after waiting 45 minutes they had no recollection of booking. Then had to email my confirmation to secure room. Then went up to the executive room they allocated to find it had no curtains, 1 cup and no tea making facilities. Complained at desk and was given an upgrade on my booking

Mr Sore, 09 May 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel was Ok to get to. Reception service was very time consuming, took 30 to 45 minutes to get room key, we requested for ground floor room which was unavailable & were given room right at the end of the hotel building, we had to take our luggage all the way with us to the room. there should be some rooms reserved for senior citizens to make holiday a little easier. Otherwise it was ok.

Mr Kara, 08 May 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Hotel did not include transfers and hence another mr £17.50 each way but could not get a transfer back because they had no cars!

Mrs Vaughan, 07 May 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

Hotel very good

Mr Rodgers, 07 May 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

No complaints So i do not know what to tell you how you can improve

Mr Stephenson, 03 May 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel itself was pretty run-down and funky, but the staff were absolutely wonderful. So friendly, couldn’t do enough for us.

Mrs Quinney, 30 Apr 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Great stay and park

Miss Hooper, 30 Apr 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Hotel is dated, but room was very clean and bed comfortable. Car parking is a nightmare cars parked everywhere no defined spaces and a free for all. We were worried about leaving our car on returning we found our worries were unfounded. Good value for money, very basic but ideal for overnight stay prior to travel.

Mrs Whorriskey, 25 Apr 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Best deal available. Friendly staff, open all hours. Good night's sleep after a long delayed flight, arrived 2am. Main suggestion for improvement - train the cleaners to clean better and to have more consideration for guests- a wet cloth would have removed dirt from the radiator for example, and our cleaner knocked loudly on the door a couple of times in the morning, wanting to know if we were leaving that day.

Mr Francis, 20 Apr 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

We had booked breakfast and had confirmation, but it wasn't recognised on the system

Mrs Sullivan, 19 Apr 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Great location and value for money

Mr Middleton, 18 Apr 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Great value for money. Only let down was the local taxi company used by hotel which did not turn up for us on return.

Mr Bullock, 12 Apr 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

YES everything went smoothly No the facilities were not as described, the shower didn't work in the room The staff were helpful but too late to rectify the problem

Mr Jones, 08 Apr 2022

Europa
1 out of 5

Easy check in . Staff helpful

Mr Paine, 29 Mar 2022

Europa
3 out of 5

Everything great, the only problem we encountered was when we got to the hotel they could not find the booking. After about 15 minutes they found it, but it wasn’t in our name, which we found a bit stressful!

Mr Tempbooking, 16 Mar 2022

Europa
4 out of 5

Everything that you did was much better than I expected. Really good!

Mr Rumsby, 13 Mar 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Helpful staff, clean room, near enough to airport. We would of liked to use the spa but shame it closed at 6pm. Very pleased once I parked I could take my keys with me.

Ms Harris, 12 Mar 2022

Europa
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1021

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 28-08-2022, valid as of 25-06-2022