Reviews for the De Salis Hotel Stansted

Hall Road, Elsenham CM22 6DR

Book the Stansted De Salis Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 94 guests

Families with young children:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£78.00*
room-only
£143.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
76 94 8/10
customer rating

Close to the top of most people's lists

Our customers rated De Salis, on average, 8/10 (94 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 94

Generally the hotel was rather tired, if quirky and not as clean as it might be. They advertise that a 24/7 shuttle service operates, not the case AND had I used the shuttle service alone (solo traveller), it would have been £18 each way. You have my complaint, please find it. I don't want a voucher.

Miss Mestrum, 20 Sep 2022

De Salis
1 out of 5

Staff very pleasant and helpful, but rooms dated and a bit grubby. The biggest problem was that there was no paperwork from holiday extras, and the hotel didn't know what we had paid for.

Mrs Mcginty, 18 Sep 2022

De Salis
3 out of 5

Hotel room were shabby and outdated , mini bus to airport was way over priced

Mrs Wilson, 16 Sep 2022

De Salis
1 out of 5

Easy to use

Ms Cornelius, 05 Sep 2022

De Salis
5 out of 5

Hotel a little further from airport but good location. Room clean and comfortable. Difficulty obtaining WiFi in my room.

Ms Smith-Blain, 30 Jul 2022

De Salis
5 out of 5

Hotel wasn't great, but then when turned up to the long stay car park, we had to call for assistance to get in, and then on return had to call for assistance again as it wanted to charge £450. Pretty shoddy service.

Mr/S Jones, 26 Jul 2022

De Salis
3 out of 5

When we got back to the airport someone had left our interior light on inside the car so we had a flat battery. It was one thing we made sure off before we left the car lights where all off so why can’t your staff.

Mr Gillingham, 21 Jul 2022

De Salis
3 out of 5

I have a complaint about the De Salis hotel, awaiting a response from you!! It is a disgrace and I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy!

Mr Macey, 06 Jul 2022

De Salis
1 out of 5

Simple and easy to use.

Mr Mccurry, 03 Jul 2022

De Salis
5 out of 5

Hotel cancelled the week before our travel meaning 11 night parking at mid stay which was included would have cost much more, you found us a similar hotel with same parking included and honoured the booking price given. Well done

Mrs Jacobs, 31 May 2022

De Salis
5 out of 5

Very disappointed so much so I have made a complaint. 3 knocks on the door saying we had not paid for our meal, we had paid for 2courses upfront with holiday extras. Fire alarm went off 4 times. No teabags in the room and no phone in room and no one in reception. Embarrassing being questioned in the corridor albeit staff were pleasant. Would not stay here again. Chef was also late opening restaurant, staff stated he was on his way.

Mrs Moore, 16 May 2022

De Salis
1 out of 5

The hotel was a bit strange but very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was good but the place seemed very isolated and empty as if closed

Mr Arnell, 23 Jan 2022

De Salis
5 out of 5

The hotel would definitely benefit from some new carpets. The room was spacious and the staff was very polite and helpful

Ms Dzerina, 07 Jan 2022

De Salis
4 out of 5

Firstly the hotel with parking we booked got cancelled 2 days before we were due to stay due to it taking covid travelers. Everything got changed very efficiently but the hotel we chose from the 2 options given needs a bit of an upgrade (decorating, new carpets etc) The room had been cleaned but it looked dirty as the carpets all stained and it needed a fresh lick of paint, but the staff were nice and friendly and helpful. I will be using Holiday Extras again but not this Hotel unless it had a revamp.

Mr Ellwood, 23 Dec 2021

De Salis
2 out of 5

Room at the hotel was clean, bright and big. Soft comfortable bed.

Mrs Craig, 25 Nov 2021

De Salis
5 out of 5

I was extremely disappointed with meet and greet which I paid extra for. I had to walk 10 mins from arrivals to the office then a further 10 mins to locate my car in a huge car park. It would of been easier To do long stay and it would of Cost less also. This is not meet and greet and I’m Extremely disappointed

Miss Boot, 18 Oct 2021

De Salis
1 out of 5

No problem with the parking. The hotel food was amazing. But the actual place was not as expected. It was a good distance from the airport as in close. But the hotel needs a lot of maintenance, our tv didn’t work, there was a leak in our en-suite, it was dated, and the bar/restaurant was more like a B&B approach so strange opening times and not a huge selection for drinks.

Mr Chard, 17 Oct 2021

De Salis
3 out of 5

Hotel was not the best, quite dated decor and not the most comfortable of beds.

Mr Johnson, 04 Oct 2021

De Salis
4 out of 5

Staff were polite and helpful, the hotel was basic but clean and perfect for what we needed, will definitely stay again when i have an early flight in Stansted.

Miss Brewer, 29 Sep 2021

De Salis
5 out of 5

Seamless service in managing credits between hotels cancelled by Covid. Very impressive level of service. Very happy to recommend.

Mr Gibson, 27 Sep 2021

De Salis
5 out of 5

TYhe hotel was in a very poor conndition with limited facilities.

Mr Busby, 27 Sep 2021

De Salis
4 out of 5

As our flight was changed by nearly 6 hrs I had to cancel my bookings of car park and lounge. I certainly didn’t have any help from TUI they hadn’t even let me know the flight had changed. It now meant I needed a hotel for the night. On phoning yourselves in a panic I had the most charming gentleman who done everything for me. I can certainly say he is an asset to your co. Unfortunately I can’t remember his name. I would certainly recommend your company Thank you so much

Mrs Stevenson, 07 Mar 2020

De Salis
5 out of 5

The booking with you as always went fine , there was the hiccup with the add on meal deal which was sorted very quickly and efficiently.

Mr Demmon, 15 Feb 2020

De Salis
4 out of 5

awful rooms /not good area tatty lift .no good signs for escape route timbers outside room rotten .door hard to open .dusty in places /if you have English people staying you must speak English

Mr Brewer, 02 Feb 2020

De Salis
1 out of 5

awful rooms /not good area tatty lift .no good signs for escape route timbers outside room rotten .door hard to open .dusty in places /if you have English people staying you must speak English

Mr Brewer, 02 Feb 2020

De Salis
1 out of 5

Staff were very friendly and helpful at the rather attractive de Salis hotel which had good facilities - room was quiet and clean. Park and stay deal was excellent.

Ms Beech, 19 Jun 2019

De Salis
5 out of 5

Yes, but almost a problem as the hotel only had my forename, not my surname. Also, the long stay car park automatic number plate system didn't work, but luckily the guy in the office was able to confirm that I had paid.

Mr Ian, 13 Jun 2019

De Salis
5 out of 5

When we arrived at the hotel the front looked quite welcoming but when driving round the back the parking area could only be described as 'rough'. We were taken to our room with mutters from the receptionist that they were fully booked but may be able to offer a different room. The room we were offered had an outside entrance and was awful, with rough walls, a really old bed and a feeling of not really being part of the hotel. We said we wanted a different room and was given a room in the hotel which was better but unbeknown to us had an underfloor leak in the bathroom making the floor completely wet! We did report this in leaving but only to the night receptionist as it was 5.15am.

Mrs Mcgregor, 27 Sep 2018

De Salis
5 out of 5

Everything was brilliant and handled professionally

Mr Scott, 15 Jun 2018

De Salis
5 out of 5

Very good and the staff were great

Mr Saunders, 19 Apr 2018

De Salis
5 out of 5

Hotel was easy enough to find but road to it was bad ie flooding. Sat nav got us there fine. Room was nice and big but one pillow case was missing and no hairdryer I always check as it saves me taking my own. They did provide it on request. Food average big pizza with thick crust. It was clean with plenty of loo roll too. Handwashceascempty but they had left soaps and shampoo satchets. On returning to room we found it cold and most the heat was going out the window but bed was comfy and shower access was walk in ideal as my husbands currently using a stick due to injury.

Mr Halliwell, 11 Feb 2018

De Salis
4 out of 5

Room ok but I was a late arrival (3 am plus) and was awoken from 6 am with the noise of the planes and only found out as it got light that the bedroom window was open and letting in all the noise, so I did not get the rest before a long drive that was my reason for staying. Breakfast was good.

Mr Shynn, 31 Oct 2017

De Salis
3 out of 5

Room ok but I was a late arrival (3 am plus) and was awoken from 6 am with the noise of the planes and only found out as it got light that the bedroom window was open and letting in all the noise, so I did not get the rest before a long drive that was my reason for staying. Breakfast was good.

Mr Shynn, 31 Oct 2017

De Salis
3 out of 5

every thing was fine

Mr Leeder, 27 Oct 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Nice hotel, nice staff, but the parking was not at the hotel, but in long term. This took me nearly an hour to park my car and get back to the hotel the night before. I had an early morning flight and did not want to do this in the morning. The whole point of the hotel was to not have to get up too early in the morning. If I had not parked the night before, I would not have saved any time because I would have had to allow at least 40 minutes to park my car before my flight. I would have been just as well off staying in my home and driving that morning. I won't do this again with this hotel, unless I can have on site hotel parking. This is very important!

Mr Jolivet, 24 Oct 2017

De Salis
4 out of 5

ideal for overnight stay when flying from Stansted

Mr Moss, 24 Oct 2017

De Salis
4 out of 5

Hotel very handy for Stansted airport. However, very dated. Hotel needs a 'face lift'.

Mr Taylor, 23 Oct 2017

De Salis
4 out of 5

Hotel was a little difficult to find. Staff were lovely and hotel clean

Mrs Smith, 17 Oct 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Very short staffed and waited ages for our meal. Our room was right next door to entrance and also the door to all the rooms on our side which was very noisy, as when they shut they banged. Being near the front door the car that was being used as the shuttle was also outside our room, We did not get much sleep as car doors also banging shut and the lights from headlights showed through. So we would not use this Hotel again.

Mr Coster, 04 Oct 2017

De Salis
2 out of 5

Yes very helpful

Mr Hasler, 02 Oct 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Would deffintly recommend this hotel for a basic over night stay :)

Miss Warren, 24 Sep 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Apart a little difficulty in finding the de Salis hotel everything was good, a special thanks and appreciation for the staff at the hotel where I experienced excellent service Johno

Mr Philpott, 24 Sep 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Dirty room, poor customer service. Rushed through our evening meal - dessert placed on table while still eating our main course! And we witnessed another customer being spoken to very rudely. Very expensive for a tired, run down hotel.

Mrs Cornaby, 17 Sep 2017

De Salis
1 out of 5

Friendly reception staff and plenty of parking spaces. Reasonably close to Stansted. Reasonably priced. Water marks around toilet in our bathroom which need removing/floor replacing. Would use this hotel again.

Miss Newton, 10 Sep 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

everything was as described.everthing was good.the right start for a holiday

Mr Cooper, 14 Aug 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Nice comfortable Hotel. Staff always there to help. Breakfast selection excellent

Mr Bristow, 03 Aug 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

All ok . No wifi in rooms only in lobby

Miss Judd, 27 Jun 2017

De Salis
4 out of 5

Hotel was really nice but we had trouble with the parking as the car registration wasn't taken at the booking

Mr Saunders, 10 Jun 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

I probably could have parked at the hotel and been offered their bus service but was not given that option

Mr Holden, 25 May 2017

De Salis
3 out of 5

I probably could have parked at the hotel and been offered their bus service but was not given that option

Mr Holden, 25 May 2017

De Salis
3 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 94

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 04-12-2022, valid as of 29-09-2022