Reviews for the Stanhill Court at Gatwick

Stanhill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EP

Book The Stanhill Court

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 388 guests

Families with young children:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(4 star hotel)
 
£82.50*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
88 388 9/10
customer rating

A room with review

Our customers rated Stanhill Court, on average, 9/10 (388 reviews).

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 388

The experience overall was fine. The only minor glitch was it took some time to find the taxi when we returned to LGW - probably our fault.

Mr Brass, 28 Aug 2018

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

This is a lovely hotel situated in a lovely part of the countryside just a short drive from Gatwick airport. Very easy system from check in through to departure. The facilities were just as described. The hotel is undergoing a major renovation and extension but this doesn't affect the hotel in any way. The staff were very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable.

Mr Draper, 28 Aug 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Hello I have been in touch with Trading Standards and they have advised me that I need to contact you by email before they will get involved. I have concerns about our stay at your hotel and these are as follows We stayed here on the 3rd August room was ok .we booked 3 course meal when we got there the gas had gone in ovens. They offered us a sandwich but we had payed for 3 courses we had to pick something that didn’t not have to be put in oven and they gave us free bottle wine . Coming back from our holiday we stayed there on the 13th August got to hotel they supposed to serve food until 9.30 . We been travelling from Italy all day had no food . Only to be told when we got to hotel that chef this time was sick and there was nothing they could do . All though there was people eating in the restaurant they offered us some nuts as a consolation. The room that we stayed in wasn’t the best even lamp shades were not fixed properly to wall and were dirty . Plugs in bathroom all rusty not good at all . We woke up this morning covered in bed bug bites . We could wait to get our place we left at 7.30am . My advice avoid this place like the plague never again I would rather pay parking in Gatwick than stay in this place again . I have shown my review to Trading standards that put on Trip Advisor and I also left the same review on your website which no one answered and then it disappeared off your website which was convenient. I have never been bitten so badly on my legs and arms and I have taken pictures of all the bites over our bodies and of the dirty room we stayed in on our last stay absolutely disgusting . We payed a lot of money for the two stays and was appalled by what we saw and how dirty room 23 is it needs to be fumigated as I wouldn't want this to happen again as by some of the reviews it already has. Look forward to hearing from you Katherine Middleton

Ms Middleton, 17 Aug 2018

Stanhill Court
1 out of 5

Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful grounds and hotel. Clean room, comfortable bed. Safe parking area for extended stay.

Mr Head, 07 Aug 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Lovely old building being refurbished to a good quality, room was clean comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and were pleased with our food. Car was where I had left it in the overflow car park, taxi turned up bang on time to take us to the airport, what more can you ask for!

Mr Shaw, 06 Aug 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Second time we have stayed at Stanhill Court.Place is currently being refurbished and the room this time was much better.Staff were friendly and helpful.Lift is being installed which will be a big plus as rooms are on first floor.

Mr Upton, 26 Jul 2018

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

Lovely hotel staff helpful and friendly only 1 complaint bed very uncomfortable

Mrs Charman, 06 Jul 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Nice country house hotel in pleasant grounds. Transfers to and from Gatwick for £10 each way went really smoothly. Undergoing refurbishment, but no real problems. Package good value, meals a bit expensive but not outrageously so. Note that there didn't seem to be a lift to our room.

Mr Palmer, 23 Jun 2018

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

Very lovely hotel, friendly taxi drivers

Mrs Mchale, 29 May 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

The hotel was very comfortable and food was great. They were also very helpful with assisting with the booking of the taxi. There was slight confusion over the request for a taxi on our return but it was soon sorted out.

Mrs Tewkesbury, 21 May 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Would not recommend the hotel, in the middle of a major refurb, all the furniture very tatty and damaged, non existent mattress and they ask you to park in nothing more than a ploughed field. If we had booked to stay more than 1 night we would have moved somewhere else, very disappointing start to another wise fantastic holiday, next time will make sure we book the crown plaza where we had booked this time but due to some minor changes we couldn’t change the pick up time of our car so had to cancel Crown Plaza and stay at Stanmill Court unfortunately but hopefully now you have all the latest information you won’t recommend this hotel

Mr Willis, 21 May 2018

Stanhill Court
1 out of 5

Very all good

Mrs Gammon, 16 May 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Hotel was very nice, pre-booked meal was excellent, transfer to airport (£10) went smoothly. Only slight negatives, if i'm being picky, were that it took 2 calls on return to get the taxi back to the hotel, the car was parked in a muddy wooded glen (but the car was in the same location that I parked it in) and was covered in bird muck and tree debris. There is no lift as it is a period property (with stunning wood paneling) so be prepared to carry luggage upstairs, I was aware of these issues prior to booking the hotel. But this pailed compared to the convenience and quality of the whole experience. Will definately be using this again.

Mr Foreman, 04 May 2018

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

No lift to first floor; car park a disgrace of a swamp; steps to navigate (with suitcases) along first floor corridor. Felt like Faulty Towers

Mr Brightman, 18 Apr 2018

Stanhill Court
1 out of 5

We booked Stanhill Court hotel near Gatwick for an overnight stay and left our car there for 8 nights. The taxi was £10.00 each way, the hotel was excellent and leaving the car at the hotel worked a treat.

Ms Wood, 25 Mar 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

The Stan Hill Court Hotel was fabulous.a beautiful property in lovely grounds. Very clean and cosy, and the staff were very helpful. I felt my car was completely safe whilst stored there whilearly I was on holiday. The Lounge at the the airport was OK, but did not supply a great variety of food or drink.

Ms Kelly, 01 Feb 2018

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Bedroom window had large piece of frame missing so room was drafty

Mr Sheffield, 29 Nov 2017

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

Everything perfect

Mrs Bennett, 08 Nov 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Fine. Lovely place. Comfortable, warm, excellent food, Car was where i had left it. It is however, in the middle of nowhere

Mrs Moolgavkar, 05 Nov 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

All was 1st class

Mr Martin, 24 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Normally stay here when we travel fro Gatwick. Love this hotel. The staff are really nice with the exception of one waiter/barman which is a shame, otherwise it would be perfect!

Mrs Ames, 24 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Very professional company. Pleasant and knowledgeable sales lady. All arrangements from your company went well.

Miss Thomas-Dutton, 23 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Nice Hotel but the room we had was a little dated, although its was a nice stay and would book again very friendly staff

Mr Hunt, 19 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

Parking difficult at the hotel Taxi fare £17 and not £10 as advertised

Mr Denmark, 20 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. The only very minor detail was that when we checked into our room it had not been aired and appeared to have a musty smell. We opened the windows while we had a lovely coffee and the smell cleared in no time. Breakfast was delicious

Mrs Smith, 17 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Good value. Was clean and good facilities. Food was great. Surprised it was only 3 star

Mr Murton, 16 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Lovely hotel, staff helpful. We had a meal in the bar, which arrived promptly and very tasty. Room very comfortable, with everything we needed. We had a taxi booked for 3.00am as had an early flight. Taxi driver arrived at 2.50 and helped with cases. It was a thoroughly enjoyable start to our holiday.

Mrs Hollingsworth, 15 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Great place fantastic food

Mr Wilson, 14 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

arrived at hotel and could not find a parking space so has to leave car out the front for them to park. Hotel was very dated and hairdryer awful. Arrived home and car was covered in tree sap and leaves and bird poo so had to get it re-washed- both inside and out as they had moved it getting all mud and leaves inside. Taxi service was good and distance from airport was convenient. would book parking/hotel with holiday extras again but would not choose to return to this hotel.

Miss Baxter, 13 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
3 out of 5

Everything was great but we did not like the car parking arrangements - lots of tree debris on the car and difficult to get our cases back to it as it had been moved further away while we were away.

Mrs Beer, 13 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
1 out of 5

The mattress needs replacing, cauld feel springs

Mrs O'grady, 08 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Everything as good as usual

Mrs Meredith, 07 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Very grand hotel, impressive public areas although bar was rather small and uninviting. Food was very good. Reason I don't recommend is bed was awful. Double but v uncomfortable. Room 6...please change mattress. Also private taxi booked by hotel wasn't private but they still took £10 off each couple.

Miss Gould, 03 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
2 out of 5

Reception very helpful, facilities as expected having stayed at this hotel several times and never had cause to complain.

Mr Callow, 02 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

I checked before I booked that it would be ok to arrive in the early hours of the morning due to the fact that our flight was due to land at LGW at 1 o'clock in the morning, therefore we would not be at the hotel until 1.30am at the very earliest. I then re-checked at reception on arrival before our flight with the lady. I was told there would be no problem at all. However, there was no-one there on our return two weeks later at 2.30am. Reception was locked up. Everywhere was locked other than the foyer. No Mobile reception to call anyone. We seriously thought we'd have to sleep in the chairs. Eventually I found a button outside the hotel and pressed it. The surliest man eventually appeared. No greeting, no eye contact, nothing. Just a rude comment when he finally spoke: "All normal people are asleep at this time of the morning ". He was so unnecessarily rude. We were very shocked at his flagrant ill-temper with us. Anyone would think we hadn't booked this, or hadn't double -checked. He left us with all our luggage, we are in our sixties, and pointed up the stairs. In the morning he banged on our door twenty minutes before check out, we were up, dressed and having a coffee, to tell us "Checkout". A picturesque charming hotel ruined by such a horrible thug of a man. Even the second man down at reception just glowered at us. These people need to go on training courses as there is simply no need for such unacceptable treatment of guests.

Mrs Dunn, 02 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
1 out of 5

Second visit,very disappointing! Room was a bit shabby.On return, found the car had been damaged & the hotel really weren't helpful about it.

Ms Allard, 01 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
2 out of 5

Not very good and parking is useless park all over the place

Mr Poole, 01 Oct 2017

Stanhill Court
2 out of 5

Lovely hotel.good staff.

Mrs Clarke, 28 Sep 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly no problems at all staff were excellent transfer to airport very punctual would definitely book here again

Mrs James, 26 Sep 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Parking was s little chaotic and the hotel had no lift which was a little difficult with cases . Other than that everything was excellent and would use the hotel again without hesitation

Mr Tanner, 25 Sep 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

The staff were both very helpful and friendly. Our double room was of a good size with with the usual facilities. This stay proved to be a very good deal.

Mr Wilkins, 25 Sep 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Smooth check in and great room. Only issue was our room was a long walk and up 2 flights of stairs which with 2 large suitcases and no offer of help was tricky!

Mrs Claypole, 22 Sep 2017

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

Lovely cosy room. Food was lovely. Helpful staff. Taxi really reliable

Mr Howell, 20 Sep 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

All went smoothly and the facilities were as you described them. The staff were helpful. The taxi service was excellent.

Mr Iles, 20 Sep 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

All went well hotel a little tricky to find

Mr Whelan, 21 Sep 2017

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

The staff were very helpful. Our TV didn't work and they moved us straight away to an upgraded room. The food was lovely. Our room was lovely too.

Mr Saunders, 03 Aug 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Stanhill is a lovely hotel. Journey out worked perfectly. Getting a return taxi to pick up car was impossible!

Mr Sweeney, 27 Jul 2017

Stanhill Court
4 out of 5

Lovely place,great staff

Ms Allard, 17 Jul 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

We were delighted with the hotel even though the mattresses were fairly uncomfortable. The arrangements for getting to the hotel on return went a bit awry and cost us more than anticipated but an acceptable outcomein in the end -- just didn't need the stress after such a long day!

Ms Bolton, 16 Jul 2017

Stanhill Court
5 out of 5

Everything went very well, exactly as described

Ms Amps, 12 Jul 2017

Stanhill Court
1 out of 5

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 388

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 16-10-2022, valid as of 15-08-2022