Reviews for the Gatwick Europa Hotel

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Europa

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 944 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£49.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
74 944 7/10
customer rating

Oui or non?

Our customers rated Europa, on average, 7/10 (944 reviews).

Viewing reviews 151 - 200 of 944

The bathroom was dirty, mound around the bath and shower and beds were hard, one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in

Mrs Woods, 31 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

The bathroom was dirty, mound around the bath and shower and beds were hard, one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in

Mrs Woods, 31 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

The hotel is what it is, an airport stop over hotel that serves a purpose. It could do with a complete makeover but for the money - good value.

Mrs Ball, 30 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

a taxi included in the price and there waiting.

Mrs Hetherington, 30 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything went to plan. Room was clean and comfortable. We didn't have to leave our car keys so we know the car wasn't moved/used by anyone.

Mrs Browne, 26 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Wasn't very clear where to meet the driver

Miss Hatch, 25 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel adequate for the job although there could be problems in finding a parking space.

Mr Carson, 25 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel needs immediate refurbishment. Food was ok, staff were friendly. Reception team were ok checked in quick. Parking is a nightmare however we got lucky as someone was leaving.

Mr Fordyce, 26 Oct 2017

Europa
2 out of 5

Staff were good and very helpful, however the rooms are dark and need updating. Bed needs to be king size not double. Room also had a musky smell, however we were only in there from around 9pm and were out at 3:30am. We have paid less booking through holiday extras for 2 weeks. And had better hotels, we only had a week this time. Unsure if we would book with you again.

Mrs Allen, 25 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

The staff were professional, courteous & helpful. Everything was clean & as we expected. My one criticism was the poor standard of breakfast offered. I was surprised that there were just 2 cereal options with no muesli or similar our options were somewhat limited. I would have thought a greater selection of cereal with yoghurt should have been provided. in response to another customer a member of staff went into the kitchen & came back with hot croissants & we were offered them which was a nice touch. It was a shame that they were frozen in the middle!

Mr Healey, 23 Oct 2017

Europa
3 out of 5

Staff helpful amenities as stated but hotel is shabby and outdated but a good price with excellent taxi links so the experience serves its purpose

Mrs Conroy, 23 Oct 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

Everything went well , exellent base for Gatwick , left the car for 2 weeks with no problems ( roadrunner taxis excellent service also)

Mr Williams, 19 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

we had no problems

Mrs Carver, 19 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

One of the best and easiest booking in ever encountered in years

Mr Martin, 19 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

What let them down for me was, I found a debit card outside the main entrance. When I went to reception to had it in, the guy on reception laughed at me and said "and what do you expect me to do with it?" I explained to him I wanted him to take it as it was obviously belonging to a visitor and they would hopefully come back for it- he just shook his head. Luckily, it belonged to a lady in the line so I gave it back to her myself.

Mr Saunders, 20 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

All was excellent the food, the service, etc the parking was a bit chaotic it took a while to find a space and the beds were the worst I have ever slept on in a hotel. Extremely lumpy and hard.

Mrs Price, 19 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Terrible hotel, parking was impossible, cars abandoned everywhere, had to pay extra to park at Gatwick for the week

Mr Parsons, 18 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Allocated carparking would be good. I paid for parking but never got it because the car park at Europa Hotel was full.

Mr Cameron, 17 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Horrible noisy hotel, dirty travel cots and beds were so uncomfortable.

Mrs Glover, 18 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Parking was very tight. Rooms are dated and food needs improving.

Miss Lawrance, 16 Oct 2017

Europa
3 out of 5

Hotel and parking were ok, not great, but at the price you can not complain

Mr King, 13 Oct 2017

Europa
3 out of 5

Very happy with all aspects

Mr Armstrong, 12 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything was great but the carpark which we paid for was full. My fellow traveller has paid for this and is very disappointed.

Mr Whicello, 12 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

On arrival at the hotel we were unable to locate any space to park the car. The man at reception told us they do not guarantee a parking space. They had a lot of contractors staying at the moment. He walked around with a torch and confirmed no spaces were available but if we parked on the grass verge outside the hotel and looked again at around 4am some spaces may become available. I did get up at 6.30 and located a space having left my car blocking other cars in overnight. The room was awful, smelling of tobacco and very uncomfortable and run down. Overall, this was a very stressful start to our holiday. I have used Holiday Extras on a number of occasions and have been very pleased with the standards and service. If you continue to use this hotel I can only think that your quality assurance systems are not ensuring that you maintain the excellent standards to which you aspire.

Mr Duncan, 12 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Parking control in the car park could be better. All in all agood service.

Mr Lane, 09 Oct 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

I sent this email directly to the hotel, but got no reply - perhaps you could help? Hello We recently booked a one-night stay and a week of parking as we flew from Gatwick for our holiday. I have to say that we were really disappointed from the moment we drove into the "car park". On the basis that we had booked a week's parking, there were absolutely no spaces in the car park and we were driving around for a long time before we eventually parked on the edge of a row, so not really in a proper space. I would have thought that there would be designated spaces for those that have paid extra for parking. When we eventually parked and entered the hotel lobby, we waited a very long time to check in - I am not sure what it was, but the check-in staff seemed very slow. It appeared as though there was one person dealing with guest from the Red Cross, thus only leaving one other person to check every other guest in. Once we had put our luggage into our room we swiftly made our way to dinner by this point - we had paid extra at time of booking for a 3 course meal. We were told by the staff member in the restaurant that we had to go back to reception and get a voucher. This was rather annoying as I would have though it would have appeared when we checked-in that we had prepaid for dinner. So now we had to wait in an even longer (equally as slow) queue for something that could have been done earlier! By this point it was 9:30pm and we arrived at 8pm (so that's 1 hour 30 minutes to park and check-in ... I hope you will appreciate that is a very long time to spend?). The food was terrible as everything was cold by this point. I understand that we were late to the restaurant (no fault of ours?) but I would have thought that food would be kept hot until end of service. We therefore didn't eat anything for dinner, so wasted our money and went hungry for the night. The Holiday Extras website states when booking the dinner "Make your stay extra special by having a fantastic evening in the hotel's restaurant, where you have plenty to choose from the menu." - the stay definitely wasn't made extra special by the cold food, and there certainly wasn't plenty to choose from - there was only one option for each course! This really ruined the start to our holiday and as such I am now seeking a refund for the night's stay and "dinner" that we had - according to the Holiday Extras website, this equates to £52 for the night's stay plus a further £20 for the 2x prepaid dinners. This totals £72. I look forward to hearing from you soon with how you wish to proceed. Regards, Ryan

Mr Fletcher, 09 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

The hotel was dirty the room smelt of cigarettes the upgrade for whirl pool bath wasnt woryh it as the bath was cracked and filthy. Ir was disgusting. The car park was full although we managed to find one place meant our car was almost in a bush. I cannot begin to say how utterly disappointed i was. Not a great start to our holiday

Miss Chamberlin, 09 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Car parking is awful. There must be lots of cars with scratches and bumps. You can barely drive around the car park. It's laughable. Hotel is run down but does its job. Nobody on reception half the time we were there.

Mr Isaac, 08 Oct 2017

Europa
2 out of 5

Your service was 1st class, just the hotel was very dated furniture old & tatty, room smelt of smoke.

Mr Ashford-Thomas, 07 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel was great, rooms clean and very comfortable. The staff very friendly and helpful. They organised our taxi transfers, which all went smoothly, although it was a half hour wait for taxi to collect us, but all taxi firms were offering the same waiting time. The only thing that let's this hotel down is the parking, as it took some time driving around to find a space.

Miss Holliday, 06 Oct 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

every thing ran smoothly and as described

Mr Dearsley, 04 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Parking is a bit crazy (no allocated spaces). Cars parked everywhere and It took us 30 minutes to find a space. It didn't look as busy when we left. Taxi to and back from the airport are very easy.

Mr Capriotti, 05 Oct 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

Parking can be difficult at the hotel

Mrs Huggett, 05 Oct 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

The food was very poor

Mrs Walton, 02 Oct 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Everything was excellent apart from there being no juice with our meal. We had to go downstairs and pay separately for it. Staff were good and the room was fine

Mr Blackie, 01 Oct 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Yes very well

Mr Flowers, 29 Sep 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

The service was good.no complaints.

Mrs Dane, 29 Sep 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

On our arrival, our room had been used earlier by another party and was in a mess. Although we were given another room, this did take an hour to sort out. I was not happy. On our return, the taxi took an hour to appear, though this may have been due to traffic. This was far too long to wait.

Mr Dowding, 27 Sep 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

yes..very

Ms Challinor, 27 Sep 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel is very dated and the double rooms in the lodge are very compact. The buffet carvery is certainly not worth the money they charge even at a discounted rate. Jay on reception was very efficient and took care of organising taxi to airport. Good enough for one night stay but wouldn't stay any longer.

Mrs Chesser, 26 Sep 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

Very helpful and the staff where very good in their jobs and made our short stay there pleasurable

Mrs Smith, 26 Sep 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

All excellent

Mrs Willsher, 25 Sep 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

The strong smell of cannabis in the corridor and the people in the room next door arguing did not help. The room was very clean and comfortable with good facilities. The information in the room stated that we could call reception for an alarm call the following morning, however when I did I was told that they no longer did alarm calls as they had a new system. When I asked how to access the new system, I was told that it was not yet active.

Mr Urry, 23 Sep 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

We paid am additional £10 extra x2 for the evening carvery which was not very good at all, the staff, didn't really seem that bothered also which I'm sure that they don't get that well paid so, but the hotel over all was OK and just what we expected.

Mr Connolly, 23 Sep 2017

Europa
3 out of 5

Front desk is a bit disorganised and manic. We weren't told that our car registration had to be registered within half an hour of parking until some time later. Now hoping not to receive a fine!! Otherwise all was fine. Really what you would expect from s fairly basic hotel of this kind.

Mr Nicholls, 19 Sep 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

Europa hotel rather "tired", but ok for a one-night stopover at a reasonable price. Easy to book with Holiday Extras.

Mr Pinder, 18 Sep 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

Everything went smoothly from check in to check out. We have stayed at the Europa many times and the staff are always helpful and friendly. Taxi arrived on time to take us to the airport. See you in March

Mrs Pollard, 15 Sep 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

I was very pleased with the hotel and the staff that waereverry helpful the food was berry good to thanks very much

Mr Brickstock, 11 Sep 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

everything was fine

Mr Fletcher, 09 Sep 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Lovely staff, very helpful - good size room, a bit dated

Mrs Cooper, 07 Sep 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

Viewing reviews 151 - 200 of 944

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 11-10-2020, valid as of 10-08-2020