Reviews for the Gatwick Europa Hotel

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Europa

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 944 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£49.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
74 944 7/10
customer rating

Oui or non?

Our customers rated Europa, on average, 7/10 (944 reviews).

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 944

I didn’t use the hotel, I just used the parking facilities.

Mr Sutherland, 03 Jul 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

The hotel when we arrived had no car parking spaces, when mentioning to reception we could not find a space they did not care at all and just wrote off completely what I said. In the end had to tuck my car in to a place that was not a space at my own risk. Terrible

Miss Brown, 03 Jul 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

This was my third time at the Europa Hotel Gatwick and this really suites my needs. The only thing I would suggest is that the parking is made more organised with proper parking spaces for all. This would allow the hotel to cater for more people and at the same time proper protection for all cars.

Mr Howes, 27 Jun 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Parking was atrocious,over an hour to find a space and this was on ground only suitable for a 4x4. The staffs only comment being if you keep driving around you might find someone just pulling out up by the gym.Pathetic,having been driving for over five hours to be told this. The hotel itself was in need of some TLC.being very run down in most areas The breakfast was adequate.

Mr Hemsley, 22 Jun 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Had to pay for kids to use swimming pool which should be included

Miss Bastable, 20 Jun 2018

Europa
2 out of 5

I got food poisoning from dinner at the hotel and so was awake being sick all night. The staff were unhelpful when I tried to explain the problem the next morning. A member of staff said she could not help and that I would have to go to the website to look for the customer services details. Being ill ruined the first two days of my holiday! Overall, an awful experience!

Mrs Gleeson, 19 Jun 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Everything was as advertised.

Mr Hall, 16 Jun 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

No car park spaces available, had to park on a grass verge outside the hotel grounds on a public road Central heating was on, 2 room changes no difference, hardly no sleep which is why we booked it in the first place to get some extra sleep before an early flight. Never again, refund required

Dr Ablett, 15 Jun 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

The airport parking was easy and was great. However the hotel it self was dirty. My son and I stayed clothed and lay on top of the bed. The beds were also very uncomfortable.

Mr Ferris, 10 Jun 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Nice good value airport hotel. Please note no lifts. Food nice, big rooms and friendly staff.

Mr Stone, 06 Jun 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

I have already written you a complaints letter re my non stay at Europa Gatwick .... your service was great but on arriving at the hotel there was no room for me at 1.30 in the morning .... they refused to find me another room anywhere and o had to drive 2 hours back to Oxford after being up 24 hours . I have not yet had a reply from you !!!

Ms Fraser, 06 Jun 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Yes , very close to gatwick airport , room very clean ,

Mr Kendell, 04 Jun 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Used the park and stay at the hotel the hotel europa is awful I mean awful ! Dated and smelly needs a lot of attention. Our room seemed so far away not a prob but as we walked to our room on the very sticky dirty carpet it got smellier and smellier . Then our room was right next to a tatty water feature in the grounds that was on all night sounded like a washing machine in our room all night not good when u have a 4am start this hotel is like something out of the phyco film ! We got greeted with you will have to walk up the stairs no lift to first floor !! And went to make a cuppa but water still in kettle and had been in there a while !!! And the sheets smelt funny. The parking is pot luck and if u arrive late you may have to park on rd !! Not good at all . The over grown trees and bushes cause cars to be dirty worse hotel ever stayed in not a good start to our holiday ! 😔 Taxi service good .

Mrs Berry, 01 Jun 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

I gave a 2 for the staff the europa at crawley Gatwick it was tiered looking inside and out the first room smelt and the tv did not work I complained and they changed the roomI ordered a meal the both of us did not eat I asked for a coffee They said both machines are broken I must go to the bar so on and so on

Mr Huber, 30 May 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Europa hotel was very drab and in my option required updating. Window to outside could not be closed and room was dry cold with no air con.

Mr Higgitt, 28 May 2018

Europa
2 out of 5

Paid for parking and no parking spaces available. Lady on reception very blunt and rude. Asked for baby bed but was placed in a room with 3 single beds. Not suitable for a 4 month old. Then went to book taxi and the receptionist was very dismissive and had an ‘I don’t want to be here’ attitude.

Mr Milisic, 26 May 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

The staff were very helpful

Ms Roy, 24 May 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Great service the only negative point was that the instructions where to meet the taxis at Gatwick South Terminal needs updating as there is no kiosk any longer at the meeting point.

Mrs Cook, 13 May 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel was terrible will never stay here again even if it was free

Dr Green, 12 May 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Our stay at the Europa was without fault. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the whole experience from beginning to end was hassle free. It don t need improvement

Mr O'neil, 10 May 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly it was all you say people were nice bedrooms were good bar and food all good

Mrs Dene, 07 May 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel was very old and outdated. The carvary was not very good. The price for parking was good value.

Miss Nickless, 04 May 2018

Europa
2 out of 5

The staff ignored me for some time before i could check in. The room was ok other than the fact that its still used by smokers the smell was awful why put an ashtray in the room???

Mr Strickler, 29 Apr 2018

Europa
2 out of 5

No fuss no bother. Just book n go with confidence

Mr O'neil, 26 Apr 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything was as described and the hotel conveniently situated and easy to access off motorway. The taxi service provided was very efficient and reasonable. Altogether a good experience

Mrs Castle, 26 Apr 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Have stayed here twice before and as previously no problems. Safe parking. Good food and a good nights sleep. Will definitely stay there again when flying from Gatwick.

Mrs Hancock, 23 Apr 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Advert description for the hotel did not make it clear the pool etc would be extra. Dinner was good value, breakfast was better though. No frills. Room was very dated and the bathroom had peeling tiles with a very old shower. OK overall for the price but we'll prob stay elsewhere next time.

Mrs Gist, 19 Apr 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Staff helpful, room smelt like smoke, WiFi was expensive and the only option as rooms had no service for mobiles

Miss Parker Fuller, 15 Apr 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Stayed at Europa Gatwick. Rooms were basic but suited our needs parking onsite was good.

Mrs Crathorne, 13 Apr 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Every thing was brilliant, staff were lovely, hotel was nice, food was ok.

Mrs Stringer, 13 Mar 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Very easy and helpful excellent value for money used many times before never had a problem

Mr Carrington, 01 Feb 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

every thing was great

Mrs Jinks, 25 Jan 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Tired hotel. Bathroom dirty

Mr Bigg, 17 Jan 2018

Europa
2 out of 5

All my dealings with Holiday Extras were excellent, the staff being very helpful. However my choice of Hotel, Europa near Gatwick was a terrible choice, not the fault of Holiday Extras The hotel was rundown, dirty and the staff very unhelpful.

Mr Carson, 14 Jan 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Unfortunately, when we arrived at the hotel, the staff had no record of our booking.. After some time the manager had to call Holiday extras, and eventually we got into a room

Mrs Bannigan, 20 Dec 2017

Europa
2 out of 5

I have already reccommended you to family and friends as we were very impressed with the value and service we had.

Mrs Paice, 12 Dec 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

The staff were very friendly and helpful

Mrs Ambrose, 10 Dec 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything you did went smoothly. Hotel was ok and worry the money but the hotel was very old and dated

Mrs Wills, 01 Dec 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel was fine clean and easy to find,booked again for next holiday

Mrs Fish, 30 Nov 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

The room was clean, the staff helpful, the car parking was fine and the taxi company charged us £9 as you said. We did not use the bar or restaurant. However, the hotel decor is tired.

Mr Anderson, 23 Nov 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

The hotel and room was VERY dirty. We had to ask for towels as the ones in room had brown stains on them. We had prebooked the 3 course carvery for dinner and the food was awful! Dried up with no flavour, it looked like had been sitting there under the warmers for hours. It wasn't really a carvery there was meat, roasts and 1 dish with frozen mixed veg! If you decide to stay here eat before you go. We wanted a drink with dinner and was told we had to go back downstairs to get one from the bar as the waitress was off sick, even though the hostess was doing nothing! The bed was ok and we were lucky to have a quiet room so did sleep quite well. The reception staff seemed friendly enough and we liked the fact that you got to keep your car keys. It's a good price for a quick convenient overnight stay as long as you can cope with the dirt! Is only the next junction up from Gatwick so quick to get to and taxi only costs £10.

Miss Goodwin, 23 Nov 2017

Europa
2 out of 5

Do not sell it!!!

Mrs Baker, 21 Nov 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Yes all worked really well

Mr White, 18 Nov 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel was as described, staff very helpful and friendly and always had a smile to welcome you the food both breakfast and evening meal were of a good standard. The bedroom was comfortable but the bed was a bit hard. The taxi service that they booked for us was excellent

Mr Styant, 11 Nov 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Staff friendly. Pool ideal. Hotel needs a good dusting!!!

Miss Greatrex, 07 Nov 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel room was disgusting mould in bathroom smelt the damp bed damp did not stay there had to spend out to go to another hotel.parking was bad just dirt tracks no security large puddles we had to walk round before we got to reception as I'm disabled & had my 5yr old granddaughter with me it was a nightmare.we also had to walk through were food was being served to reach our room which is a health and safety issue.very disappointed as I had to pay £1110 for alternative hotel and £40 to park.

Mrs Steele, 07 Nov 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Great check in. Guy on reception was really helpful taxi was booked turned up on time and pick up after holiday was good.

Mr Graham, 06 Nov 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly, helpful staff, very convenient service. The Europa was very sad and tired: terrible bathroom , and breakfast was poor. But the bed was clean, we slept well , we parked our car, the staff were pleasant and the price was very reasonable, so no complaints.

Mrs Bell, 04 Nov 2017

Europa
3 out of 5

Rooms need updating and lots of refurbishment is required to make this hotel fit enough to stay at. Even the bar sofas and chairs where awful.

Mrs Wasteney, 03 Nov 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Rooms need updating and lots of refurbishment is required to make this hotel fit enough to stay at. Even the bar sofas and chairs where awful.

Mrs Wasteney, 03 Nov 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 944

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 11-10-2020, valid as of 06-08-2020