Reviews for the Gatwick Europa Hotel

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Europa

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 944 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£49.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
74 944 7/10
customer rating

Oui or non?

Our customers rated Europa, on average, 7/10 (944 reviews).

Viewing reviews 51 - 100 of 944

Everything was fine no problems

Mr Parkhouse, 31 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything okay hotel fine for the purpose especially the car parking.

Mr Butterworth, 31 Dec 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Not the easiest hotel to find but a restful nights sleep and parking for 29 days. Great prices and food that was satisfactory.

Mr Strling, 21 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

The staff were very helpful, the room is basic but for what we paid as an overnight stop it was great value. A taxi was ordered for us it arrived on time and we knew the cost before we got in it, all in all great service

Mr Crisp, 04 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Friendly staff, comfortable room, good breakfast. Parking easy. Very good value. Don’t know why so many bad reviews.

Miss Bath, 11 Nov 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel dated needs upgrading

Mr Faulkner, 30 Oct 2018

Europa
2 out of 5

I was worried after reading all the comments online but no need, we found a parking spot after about 5 minutes, check in was easy, the room was fine and we didn’t hear a peep from other guests, breakfast was good, the kids really enjoyed it and the car was perfectly fine when we returned and collected it, will definitely use again!

Mrs Edwards, 23 Oct 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel dirty and unclean. I got food poisoning from the hotel food hours before my flights.

Mr Ilyas, 23 Oct 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Staff very friendly. But had been very busy that day. Hence we were given a room that was still occupied. Fortunately the problem was soon sorted out

Mrs Campbell, 20 Oct 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Thought I've already done this survey,? Stayed at Europa clean basic suited our purpose. Parking was a nightmare. Holiday extra were great will use them again.

Mrs Hatchard, 19 Oct 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Hotel was fine, had to request bedding for the rollaway bed and had to wait a while for it but apart from that great stay

Mrs James, 13 Oct 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Parking at Europa Hotel was pot luck drove around for ages to find a space. Glad I've not got posh new car ha ha. Staff very good at hotel. Rooms basic all you need and very clean. Breakfast not best, buffet help yourself, foodbeen there a long time. Basic. Saying that it suited our purpose and worked well with times of our flights. So would use again.

Mrs Hatchard, 11 Oct 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

The hotel was ok but will probably not stay there again. Room was passable but disappointed with the evening meal which was a buffet and left a lot to be desired!

Mrs Ray, 10 Oct 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Second visit. Helpful staff. Good value for money.

Mrs Lai Tan, 05 Oct 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Although the hotel itself is ok, parking at this hotel is awful. Not enough spaces provided and most of the parking is on unmade muddy ground with no set spaces. Also the approximate £10 taxi fare is actually £19 so almost double that stated!

Mrs Finch, 27 Sep 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Staff ok but not happy with the price of breakfast instant coffee in a dish with a spoon to make your drink with hot water.

Mr Emsley, 21 Sep 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

hotel okay - needs an uplift- very dated and shabby

Mr Page, 18 Sep 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Hotel was okay but smelt of damp, Restaurant was food was ok, the bed mattress was terrible, springs sticking out everywhere, so no sleep that night

Mr Smith, 18 Sep 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

We think the hotel was in need of updating and refurbishing. The Set meal in the evening was disappointing. Upon our return journey: the taxi company that was recommended, let us down & we were not contacted re: when the taxi arrived ! We waited 1 hour !

Mrs Burchell-Trent, 16 Sep 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Average hotel, nothing particularly special but that is not why we booked! Was very convenient for the airport.

Mr Lea, 11 Sep 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel with parking was absolutely shocking. I wouldn't stay there ever again. We drove around for over 30 minutes looking for somewhere to park as the hotel had clearly booked it too many people requiring parking spaces. Their suggestion was that we make our own parking space or park on double yellow lines, but had anything happened to our car it wouldn't have been their responsibility. When you pay for parking you expect to get parking. We booked a hotel with parking so we could have a stress free night in Gatwick before our long haul flight the next day, and that is certainly not what we got. The hotel room was outdated, cramped, and smelled like damp also. However, this was the bit I could overlook having stayed in hostels before, and since it was only one night. The parking situation however was an absolute joke. Their other suggestion was that if there really wasn't anywhere to park, we could park it on the road. So having paid for parking we wouldn't have parking. The reception staff said that this was the only thing they could suggest as they were busy. Absolutely shocking service that I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Miss Drew-Edwards, 05 Sep 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel was not that great. 1st off all we can't not get in to the room? The young man @ desk was helpful. Food was not good. Then @ 05.09 the fire alarm keeps going off. And when we went down stairs. With all the other people from the hotel. The man @the desk was not helpful. All he said its a good think that the alarm works? Will not be staying there again!

Mr Spencer, 31 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

The hotel was very shabby and outdated with no toiletries in the room. The breakfast & evening meal were very basic

Mrs Godfrey, 29 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Facilities and standards at the hotel were quite poor and not up to scratch. Smelly dirty pool changing rooms and toilets, room basic and toilet not up to standard. Shower not working. Reception area and walkways smelt of smoke. We wouldn’t stay here again.

Mr Manners-Jones, 28 Aug 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Yes! Very happy with service at hotel and with parking. Meal at Europa Hotel was excellent and clean comfortable room. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. I was very impressed, excellent value for money.

Miss Betts, 26 Aug 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

On arrival the hotel said they didn’t have a booking under our name, when they eventually found it it took them nearly half an our to check us in with repeated issues and the receptionists didn’t appear to know what he was doing. When we did finally get to our room, within half an hour another guest opened our door as they had been checked into the same room by reception. The hotel itself looked tired and outdated, and we had a generally dismal experience. A truly disappointing start to our holiday.

Miss Nixon, 25 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Parking was almost impossible with no spaces and many cares looking to park. I only found a place due to a guest leaving and kindly waiting for me to drive up. The room my sons had was very dirty and there was evidence of blood on the shower curtain and towels. I reported this to the night manager and he has advised me to contact the hotel customer services for a refund. when I returned my car had been moved even though I did not leave the keys at reception (I offered but they refused). I would like to know how they moved my car? I use Holiday Extras a lot when travelling on business. On this private holiday trip it was the worse experience ever. Never again!!

Mr Benning, 21 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Poor staffing, rude and slow. 40 minuets to only check in. Food was below the standard. Very bad quality.

Mr Mankoui, 21 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel felt very run down and dirty. Bedding and towels did not feel like they were fresh. Didn’t make clear you had to pay for pool - that’s the only reason I picked that hotel. Compared to what we paid previously this hotel was nowhere near as good as cheaper ones we have been in. The hotel should have been much cheaper.

Mrs Cooper, 14 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

We've been using Holiday Extras for pre-holiday hotel with car-parking included and on occasion for airport car parking; consistently for over eighteen years now. That type of repeat in it'self should say something about the brand and how we find your service useful, easy and competitive. And on the odd occasion we need to have human interaction, everyone we've spoken to has been most courteous, professional and above everything has been empowered to resolve any query or issue without fuss.

Mr Wall, 13 Aug 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Parking space difficult to find on a Saturday night. Wedding taking place in hotel contributed to this. Bedrooms and bathrooms need revamping, and not particularly clean. Pre-paid meal very poor. Salad bar and vegetables very uninviting. Had to wait for someone to carve the joints of meat. Better to arrange for a pizza to be delivered. Would not recommend to anyone!!

Mr Ince, 13 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

The car park was overbooked - no spaces. Had to drive around for an hour to find one. The hotel was very busy and had also overbooked - families being sent away with young children late at night who had booked and paid for a room. Room was basic and very hot - not very clean either. Next time I would just get up early and drive to the airport

Mr Tansley, 13 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

We left our vehicle at this hotel to come back to find it had been damaged. I purposely parked this vehicle near a cctv camera as it was a loan vehicle. I contacted the manager he said he could not release cctv footage to me only to the police so I reported it, they made contact and this is the response I got,,, Dear Mr Richards, Further to your last email I have spoken to the manager of the hotel and enquired about CCTV. He has informed me that even though there is CCTV in the car park it’s coverage is patchy and only really covers main entry points in to the hotel. He has also informed me, even if the RTC was picked up the quality of the CCTV would not be good enough to identify a vehicle registration number. Without the vehicle registration number we would not be able to identify who the registered owner of the vehicle is. With this, our only line of enquiry, exhausted the matter will now be filed pending any further information coming to light. Please do not hesitate to contact us further if you have any other questions regarding this matter. Regards Ben Contact Handler Force Contact Command and Control Department Tel: or Twitter: @sussex_police You can report crime and incidents online at www.sussex.police.uk/reportonline We want to know your views - see what’s new and give us your feedback and suggestions at www.sussex.police.uk If you have received this message in error, please contact the sender as soon as possible - you may not copy it, or make use of any information contained in it for any purpose, or disclose its contents to any other person. Messages sent and received by Sussex Police are not private and may be the subject of monitoring.

Mr Richards, 05 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

We prebooked the meal in the restaurant. It was very bad as they had not replenished the car very and we had to keep asking for many items. The staff seemed very harassed and complained about having too much to do. Also we asked for a taxi for 4am. When it did not arrive we found they had booked it for 6am

Mrs Milton, 03 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Everything was ok apart from an embarrassing check in. When we opened the door to our room there was a half naked man getting ready for a shower! We had to walk back to reception with all our baggage and be relocated to a different room.

Mr Hibberd, 30 Jul 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Good budget hotel with parking. Food was hot and plentiful. For the money paid, it would be difficult to find anything else. Hotel is dated and decor could do with a makeover, but if you want 5 star hotel, pay 5 star money.

Mr Partner, 28 Jul 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything excellent, especially the included buffet dinner. Taxi really was only £9 each way for 4 people.

Mr Marshall, 16 Jul 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

All was good as I did have to transfer to airport inn who tried to charge me twice

Miss Richardson, 14 Jul 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Disappointed with the hotel meal which we booked prior to going. Carvery, there was nobody carving and found staff not that helpful. Food was very dry and inedible. We requested a cup of tea with the meal and were told tea was only available with breakfast. Room was clean. Taxis were not booked for people. It was an absolute nightmare at 3.30in the morning. Will not be visiting you again.

Mrs Wright, 13 Jul 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

We were moved to another hotel which we were very unhappy about. The hotel was very poor quality. Due to lack of sleep,my partner passed out on the plane banging his hair and injuring his back. He is still in pain. This spoilt our holiday. I have already raised a complaint.

Mr Coulson, 13 Jul 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Please see the complaint we've sent to you. Awful experience and will never never use again .

Mrs George, 12 Jul 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Easy check in, easy departure with taxi waiting

Mr Jenner, 11 Jul 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Nice tidy hotel with plenty of parking even with another event on the night we arrived. Easy to check in and out and to get transfers to and from the airport!

Mr Downing, 10 Jul 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

we did book somewhere else and when we arrived we were told there was no room and had to go somewhere else.We were on out way to a 11day holiday and when we got back were had in the post a parking fine from Europa park stating we are fined £100.Absolutely disgusting! we parked at Europa as there was where we originally booked and it had taken us around an hour to get served by a very slow reception with other people complaining.if it wasn't for waiting at the reception...we would of been on our way to the other accommodation without having a fine.we will not book with you again.The hotel we were sent to was old and shabby.We were not informed by yourselves that the accommodation was changed ,therefore we should not pay this fine.

Mr Cockram, 10 Jul 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

We arrived at Gatwick Europa to find there was no room booked for us and we were directed to a "sister hotel". This is not the first time it has happened. Won't be using Holiday Extras again. Will book direct with hotel in future.

Mr Pinder, 10 Jul 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Perhaps if you remember to tell the hotel we've booked and paid for that we're staying there, that might be a bonus. It's been over two weeks and I'm still awaiting an explanation about how you made such a glaring error, spoiling the start of our honeymoon as we were relocated to a far less superior hotel and didn't receive all of the upgrades that we booked and paid for.

Mr Thompson, 09 Jul 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Europa hotel When we get there the car park was so full but we managed find one and then went to reception there were a young lady and old woman with glasses and grey hair. They couldn't find our reservation and asked us wait until they find it . 10mins later old woman said found our booking but wasn't on their system. She said we can't stay here because they don't have a space very rudely and I said we made a booking while ago that doesn't make a sense for us. I asked her you found our booking then let us stay. She said no we don't have space I told you ! I said then contact to your management or where we booked she said do it you self nothing to do with her. She was so rude and useless woman I ever met in my life . I never gonna go back to that hotel again. At the end they sent me another hotel which was was 1star and so d

Dr Lee, 08 Jul 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

The receptionist was pleasant, polite and very helpful. However, it was very difficult to find a parking space. The evening meal was adequate.

Mr Wanklyn, 07 Jul 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

We arrived at the Europa Hotel Maidenbower Crawley RH10 7ZR at 11pm only to be informed that the hotel had no vacancy. 3 other customers came after us and were told the same thing, consequently my wife and I spent 6 hours trying to sleep in reception till we called a taxi to take us to the airport. We will be asking for compensation and informing travel writers in some newspapers

Mr Broderick, 06 Jul 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Reception were very friendly and helpful, although it was difficult trying to find a parking space.

Mr Wanklyn, 05 Jul 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Viewing reviews 51 - 100 of 944

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 11-10-2020, valid as of 10-08-2020